Not this girl.

I’ve never been the type to wear shorts or short skirts. Yes, even when I lived in south Texas I still wore jeans everywhere. Well, not the beach, obviously,  but everywhere else. “Oh, it’s 100 degrees outside with 100% humidity? These jeans are probably appropriate.”

The thing is, I’m probably the absolute whitest person you know. My skin is so pale that no matter how closely I shave you can still see hair. It’s ridiculous.  I also have skin issues (maybe keratosis pilaris but I’ve never been to a dermatologist to confirm it). I’ve always been more comfortable covering my legs.

Lately I’ve been thinking that I don’t want to spend another summer in jeans. I don’t know what happened, but at some point I quit worrying what other people might think or say, and I started thinking about my own comfort. I mean, who would choose to put on a pair of jeans when it’s 90° outside? I don’t think that will be me anymore.

I went to a baby shower yesterday, and I took the opportunity to wear the cutest little skirt…

Of course, my legs are still pale as ever, so I hosed ’em down with this stuff:

image

Have I mentioned that I’m horrible at applying this sort of thing? I seriously expected to end up with zebra stripes or huge bare spots or orange knees and ankles.

It was actually super easy to apply, though, and the results were pretty cool.

image

This stuff must have been made for mom legs… Because it covered or at least diminished all of my mom leg troubles. I pretty much instantly loved it.

image

That skirt was so comfortable,  and I didn’t have to worry about flashing my underwear because there’s a pair of built-in shorts hiding under there. Hooray!

And yes, I am quite knock-kneed, thank you for noticing.

As far as the shower, O and I had a great time. He stuffed his face, and at one point he decided to cram an entire chocolate – covered strawberry into his mouth…leaves and all. We’re still working on table manners, obviously.

image

For my gift, I crocheted sage and raspberry chevron carseat blanket and a little bird rattle. I threw some wipes and travel size baby lotion, soap, etc… into the gift bag, too. That stuff is handy.

It was a really fun day. I’m glad I finally decided to liberate my poor legs. Hooray, summer!

*Sally Hansen has never heard of me or my little blog (that I know of), and I purchased this product with my own money.*