Often, when I explain to people that I work from home I think they picture something very different from the truth. After all, lots of characters on your favorite tv shows have home offices, with fancy architect tables and gorgeous leather desk chairs. I can see why someone might assume that I also have a beautiful, Pinterest-worthy office at home.

But friends, it wouldn’t be farther from the truth.

The wonderful people at WeWork asked me to share a behind the scenes look at my office space,  and I was more than happy to do it… but after having a look at their shared office spaces (not yet near me, sadly), I have developed a major case of office envy.

Why? Well…

We have a third bedroom that I could use… I even went as far as to move my desk in there. Then I decided to store most of my (rather extensive) yarn stash in that room… and I may have put a few boxes of stuff in there… and what I’m trying to say is no, that is not so much an office as it is a storage space at this point in time.

So where exactly does the magic happen?

Well, a lot of the time my office looks like this:

image

O likes to get his laptop and practice ABCs while I’m working. He also likes to drive his tractor/choo choo/ truck over anything I’m trying to write on.

image

This is my office if I happen to be working on a food post. I have given up trying to keep those little fingers out of anything.

image

On days like today, my office is in my car, and in a banquet room of a Best Western. You can get a surprising amount of work accomplished by making work calls on your way home from a giant networking meeting.

It helps if you pick up a cold brew coffee and a breakfast sandwich, by the way.

image

Some days (and maybe these are my favorites), my office is wherever my crochet hooks are. I love spending time trying new patterns and working on new items for my Etsy shop.

Of course,  I haven’t given up hope for an honest-to-goodness office quite yet. I actually have a rather lovely Pinterest board dedicated to the idea that one day I will have a real home office.

I’m not holding my breath.

If you do happen to live near a WeWork location, check them out. Seriously,  the Hollywood Boulevard location looks like an art gallery. I could probably live there.

Hey, wait…Is that allowed?

