It seems like every post I write lately (few and far between as they are) begins with an apology and a line about how busy I’ve been… So I’ll spare you the broken record this time.

Instead, I’ll just get to the good stuff…The meat of the post, if you will.

Get it? MEAT? And we’re talking about meatballs?

Ok. Well I thougt it was funny, but I’ve been awake since five a.m.

image

Back to the meatballs…

These really aren’t much different from regular meatballs, but I feel like they’re better for me than regular ol’ meatballs that are made with red meat.

I served these over pasta and this easy avocado sauce (next time, I’ll only use 1/2 of a lemon, though), but they are also good in soups and with tomato or alfredo sauce.

Turkey meatballs

1 pound ground turkey

1 large egg

1/2 cup Italian breadcrumbs

1/2 cup grated parmesan

2 cloves garlic, minced

About a palm full of minced onion (feel free to use less)

A palm full of Italian seasoning

Salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 400° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Add all ingredients to a large bowl. Using your hands, squish and squeeze until it’s all combined. Roll into balls (mine were about golfball size) and place them on the parchment, making sure they aren’t touching. Pop them into the oven for about 30 minutes, or until your quick read thermometer says 165° when poked into the center of your thickest meatball.

If your toddler has hidden your thermometer, just cut the biggest one open. If you don’t see any pink, you’re good!

image

My kid loves these meatballs, and I think I actually prefer them over a more traditional recipe using red meat.

If you have leftovers, just toss them in a zipper freezer bag and freeze them. That makes dinner even easier!

