Opinions are like assholes… Everyone is one!

…Wait, that’s not right.

Except, in some cases, maybe it is. Like maybe in the case of my Facebook newsfeed lately.

If you haven’t heard, Governor Mike Pence signed a bill recently that caused a bit of a stir. Feel free to check out this article in the Indianapolis Star.

…but this is not going to be about my opinion about the bill. I have already mentioned that I think it’s a bit unnecessary and dealing with it was a waste of taxpayer money. After all, our schools are a mess, the crime rate in Indy is insane, and there’s an honest-to-God HIV outbreak in southern Indiana. So, a few more pressing matters that should get attention, I think.

No, this is about the reaction it’s getting. Maybe it’s because I live here, but my newsfeed is full of people absolutely flipping their shit over this. You have the supporters sharing anything and everything they can find that backs their opinion,  and the other side is busy commenting and screaming at them for being bigots.

Then you have the people that don’t care. They don’t care so much that they spend some time seeking out articles that explain why this whole thing is a total non-issue. And because they care so very little, they make sure to share them on Facebook, making sure to type something like “Educate yourself!” I’m assuming that all of this is rather taxing on these people, because it must be a tremendous effort to not even care one little bit.

Ok, that was laying it on thick, even for me…

My point to all of this is that we all get to have an opinion. Every single one of us.

Some people will research for days.

Some people will skim a few articles.

Some people will read headlines, then take a look at what their friends have to say.

But no one gets to have a say over how other people form their opinions, just like no one gets to say someone is uneducated because they didn’t reach the same conclusion as you.

That doesn’t seem the least bit disrespectful? I have an idea, next time you want to say, “Educate yourself”, why don’t you just look the person in the eye, muster up the most condiscending tone you can take, and say, “Well aren’t you just a stupid little twat?”

Because that’s how it sounds.

And in the interest of full disclosure, I am mostly annoyed by this because someone actually said to me, “Why don’t you actually, you know, read the bill before you get mad about it. You just don’t understand it.”

Oh really?

I took a look at it. I don’t typically let my knee-jerk reaction to something become my official stance. But you know what else I’ve read?

Salesforce Won’t Travel to Indiana over controversial bill

NCAA Releases Statement Over Bill

GenCon Threatens to Move Convention if Bill is Signed

So yeah, I’m going to go ahead and get my panties in a wad over the fact that our state’s tourism revenue may take a serious hit. Another Super Bowl? Probably unlikely.

And yes, I will be a little more mindful of where I spend my money from now on. And I will probably be more likely to visit a business if it displays an Open for Service sticker in the window.

But what do I know? I probably didn’t even read this post.

