Deadlines are making me CRAZY right now. I’m in the middle of one huge ongoing project that has me basically putting in full-time hours. On top of that, I have an article due this weekend that I’m struggling with.

I’m not complaining… After all, freelancing tends to be pretty feast or famine. Sometimes I feel like I can’t seem to scare up any work, but others (like now) I almost end up with more than I can manage. I’m happy to have the work, believe me.

Being this busy makes it pretty tempting to let myself survive on coffee all day, because it’s much easier to pour a cup and get back to work. Since I’ve been going to the gym every morning, though,  I have actually cut back on my coffee consumption and started doing crazy things like eating real food during the day. Imagine that.

I’m also much more aware of the type of food I’m eating. I find that I actually crave healthier foods and I’m thinking of food more as fuel for my body instead of just what will taste good. Of course, whatever I eat (especially during the day) needs to come together quickly, and it’s even better if I can prep it ahead of time.

I think I found the perfect lunch.

image

This doesn’t look like much, but it was quick, delicious, and filling without making me feel sluggish. It would be an excellent way to use any leftover brown rice.

I tried a different method when frying my egg, and I don’t think I’ll ever go back… I did end up flipping my egg to cook on the other side briefly, because I have nightmares about undercooked egg whites. Not really. Well, maybe.

This really isn’t even a recipe…more like instructions for assembly. It’s just that easy.

Brown rice with avocado and crispy egg
1/3 cup uncooked quick-cook brown rice

1/3 cup water

Olive oil

1 egg

1/2 of an acocado

Parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper

Prepare rice according to packace directions. While rice is cooking, cut the avocado in half. Cut one half into slices, and save the remaining half for later.

Fry the egg according to the instructions here. I gently patted mine with a paper towel after frying to get rid of any excess oil.

When your egg is done, spoon the rice into a bowl, top with avocado slices, then with your egg. Sprinkle parm on top, then crack some pepper over everything. You can add salt if you like, but I didn’t think it was necessary.

Hot sauce might be a good addition, but I practically inhaled this. I only remembered the hot sauce as I was rinsing my bowl.

image

It was so good that I am actually looking forward to eating this again tomorrow. I won’t lie, I considered having it again for dinner.

What is your favorite quickie lunch?

