I woke up yesterday morning, before the sun, before anyone else in my house, and left for the gym. I do this every morning so it’s not remarkable. Since I started this in the winter, it also isn’t remarkable that my car was covered in a layer of ice that took forever to scrape off.

image

I’m not usually one to publicly bitch and moan about weather that is still pretty typical for our area (we’ve had snow on Easter before),  but if I’m being totally honest…I’m over it. I’m tired of being cold. I don’t want to wear a thousand layers whenever I leave the house. I’m not asking for much… just, maybe 65° and sunny?

image

Ok, I’d take this, too.

One thing I’m really missing right now is fresh produce. I want to go to the Farmer’s Market and pick out some nice tomatoes and sweet corn, local honey, strawberries…

You get the point.

So a few days ago, Kroger had some rather pretty grape tomatoes on sale. I managed to find a couple of decent cucumbers, and for once the baby dill looked fresh and not sad and wilty.

I had some chicken cutlets that I planned to roll around a filling of spinach and feta cheese, so why not make a Greek-ish salad to go with them?

This salad, and maybe the whole dinner, was just what I needed to perk up a little. I suggest picking up some naan or pita bread to go with it, because you’ll need something to sop up the extra dressing.

Greek style cucumber and tomato salad

1 container grape tomatoes, halved

2 cucumbers, cut into bite-sized chunks

About 1/4 of a small onion, cut into thin slivers

About a handful of pitted kalamata olives, roughly chopped

1 container crumbled feta cheese

Dressing:

1/2 cup olive oil

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

3-4 sprigs fresh dill, washed and minced

1 clove garlic, minced

2 teaspoons Greek seasoning

1 1/2 teaspoon sugar

Salt and pepper

Toss the tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, olives, and feta into a bowl with a tightly fitting lid.

Whisk dressing ingredients until combined, then pour over salad. Make sure the lid is good and secure, then give it all a good shake to combine and let it rest in the fridge for a few hours. I put mine together while O ate breakfast, so it got to marinate all day before we devoured it.

Taste it before serving and add whatever seasoning it needs. I ended up adding a bit more Greek seasoning, but be careful. The feta is pretty salty, so don’t go overboard.

I served this along with my spinach and feta stuffed chicken cutlets and some lemon dill roasted potatoes.

image

Excuse the poorly-lit picture, but I had to hurry because two starving guys were about to descend upon the dinner I had so artfully crafted. I knew if I waited there wouldn’t be much left. Surprisingly, O ate every bite on his plate, held it up and said, “more, pease?”

I gladly piled more on, and told him I was happy to see him eating so well.

“I happy, mama! It soooo dood!”

And then he shoveled his second helping in like he hadn’t eaten in a week.

That kid got a scoop of ice cream topped with a crumbled Oreo and chocolate syrup after dinner. Of course, he ate all of that, too.

Hell, I was so excited that he ate so much that if he’d asked for a pony I would have gone looking for one.

Stay tuned…I’ll post the recipes for the chicken and potatoes soon!

