Oh, hey guys! Remember me?

To say I’ve been busy would be an understatement. I’ve been going to the gym regularly, I accepted a couple of new freelance gigs, and I’ve been crocheting and cooking like crazy.

image

You want to make this roast, by the way. I adapted this recipe to work for a roast in the crock pot. It was delicious.

I also baked this sweet little smash cake for a sweet little girl’s one year pictures.

image

That would be a white cake (that I threw sprinkles into at the last minute for fun) with chocolate and pink buttercream.

I have also been on a major hummus kick lately. I made a batch last week that was, quite literally, a bunch of stuff thrown into my food processor. It was good, but I really wanted some roasted garlic in there.

Today, after feeding my little stinker breakfast (that he decided not to touch), we made a quick trip to the grocery store for hummus fixins. As soon as we got home, I popped the garlic into the oven to roast. O “cooked” while I crocheted, and after about an hour the garlic was ready to go.

image

Making your own hummus is so simple and easy, I don’t know why everyone isn’t doing it. Aside from roasting the garlic, it took about five minutes to make mine and it tastes so much better than store bought!

Rosemary and roasted garlic hummus
1 16 ounce can chick peas, rinsed and drained

A couple of sprigs fresh rosemary

1 head of roasted garlic (follow the easy instructions here)**

Juice of 1/2 of a lemon

Olive oil

Cumin

Salt and pepper

Add chick peas, roasted garlic, rosemary leaves (removed from the stem), lemon juice, and about a teaspoon each of cumin, salt, and pepper to your food processor. Start with about a tablespoon each of olive oil and water, pop the top on that puppy, and turn it on. Let it go for a while, and once everything starts to look nice and pulverized, stop and scrape the sides of the bowl down. Check the texture and taste, then add whatever it needs. If it feels dry, add in a bit more water and olive oil. You can also throw in whatever spices or herbs you want.

Keep blending and checking until you have the texture you like. Spoon it into an airtight container and drizzle a bit more olive oil on top.

image

If you can keep from eating all of it in one sitting, I’ll be impressed. I forced myself to put it in the fridge after shoveling half of it in my face.

**This may sound like a lot of garlic to you…And it probably is. I just really, really love the stuff. Feel free to back it down a bit. Whatever you don’t out in the hummus can be spread onto bread or mixed into mashed potatoes, soup, etc…

