I have been trying  (and largely failing) to stay away from red meat lately… I think eating it in large quantities is probably bad for you no matter what, but I’ve been told (by a doctor from The Doctors) that it’s thought to be a contributing factor in fibroid development.

I’m not trying to go through that mess again.

The problem is, I kind of love red meat. Last week we had chili and Salisbury steaks…Cow and more cow. I decided Friday night would be a good night for chicken…but The BF sent me a text early that afternoon suggesting we go out for Chinese. I ate beef and broccoli in garlic sauce. Mooooooo

Saturday night I finally made some chicken and man am I glad I did. This was delicious and pretty easy, even with a toddler literally sitting on my feet while I cooked.

I’m not saying I want to give up beef (right now I so badly want a giant, juicy cheeseburger), but I will gladly eat more chicken if I can drown it in a delightful lemon cream sauce…

Yes, I realize that cream isn’t exactly health food. Baby steps, people.

Chicken with lemon cream sauce

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used 4)

Greek seasoning

1 cup flour

Two tablespoons butter, divided

Cooking oil (I use canola)

1 cup mushrooms (or more if you love mushrooms), roughly chopped

About 1/2 of a medium onion, roughly chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup heavy cream

Juice of one lemon

A big handful of fresh parsley, roughly chopped

Parmesan cheese, grated

Pepper, to taste

To begin, heat a little oil in a skillet over medium-high heat, and add 1 tablespoon of butter. Sprinkle Greek seasoning over both sides of chicken, then dredge it in flour. Give it a shake, then arrange the chicken in your hot pan and cook for about 6 minutes on each side (or until your meat thermometer reads at least 165°). Remove chicken to a baking sheet, cover with foil, and place it in a warm oven (I stuck it in while my oven preheated to 375° for the garlic knots) while you make the sauce.

Turn the heat down to medium and drop your remaining tablespoon of butter into the pan. When it’s melted, add onion and mushrooms. Give it about 5-10 minutes, then add the garlic. After about 5 minutes, deglaze the pan with chicken stock and stir. Let that bubble and reduce by about half. Pour in half of your lemon juice and the cream, let it come to a bubble, then add the chicken back to the pan. Toss in some parsley and fresh-cracked pepper and turn the heat down a bit so the sauce thickens. Before serving, taste the sauce and add more lemon if necessary.

image

I served mine over spaghetti, but you could use rice or even spaghetti squash. Sprinkle some grated parmesan over it, throw in a salad and some garlic bread, and you have a delicious (and cow-free!) dinner that even your toddler will love. 

