I happen to think Nutella is quite possibly one of the most delicious things on the planet, so when I ended up with this Jif salted caramel hazlenut spread as part of our Christmas stuff I was super excited.

image

My MIL is the best.

O and I thoroughly enjoyed putting this stuff on almost everything, but I was afraid it would go bad before we could eat it all…the jar looks small but this stuff is pretty rich.

At first I thought about brownies, but then I discovered some white chocolate chips hanging out in the freezer and suddenly I wanted cookies.

I mean…O wanted cookies. Yeah.

I think you could use any hazlenut spread in these, so if you can’t find the salted caramel flavor don’t worry.

image

Hazlenut white chocolate chip cookies

1 stick unsalted butter, softened (or use salted and omit the 1/2 teaspoon of salt)

A little over 1/3 cup hazlenut spread (I just used what was left in the jar. It was probably 1/3 cup plus about two tablespoons)

1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon  salt

About 1 cup white chocolate chips (again, I just used what was left in the bag)

Line one large baking sheet (or two small ones) with parchment and set aside.

In the bowl of your stand mixer, cream the butter and sugars together. Add vanilla, hazlenut spread, and egg. Mix until combined.

In a seperate bowl, stir dry ingredients together. Add to wet ingredients (turn the mixer off when you add…trust me) a little at a time and mix until all is incorporated. Add white chocolate  chips.

Using a 3/4 measuring cup, scoop dough onto cookie sheets with a couple of inches in between. You should end up with 12 cookies.

Cover and refrigerate for at least a couple of hours.

When ready to bake, preheat your oven to 350°. Bake cookies for at least 15 minutes. Mine actually baked for 20, but if you like a slightly gooey texture 15 minutes would probably be fine.

image

Let the cookies cool quite a bit before trying to move them. I let mine cool completely on the baking sheet, but you could transfer them to a rack by lifting the parchment.

image

Now prepare to be annoyed, because your toddler will follow you around saying, “Cooie, mama? Pease?” for the remainder of the day.

I’m not even joking… I lost count of how many times he’s face-planted into my backside while begging for a cookie. It happens almost every time I stop moving.

