So I don’t wear a lot of makeup… and when I do decide to slap a coat of paint on my face, I don’t want to fuss with it much. I am also a major tightwad, so any products I actually pay for need to be inexpensive or I’m not buying.

That’s why I love, love E.L.F (eyes lips face). This brand is super cheap and the products are awesome!

My first experience with the brand was their daily brush cleaner. It was in my Christmas stocking after I had casually mentioned that I wanted to try it. I tried it the next day and couldn’t believe how well it worked… After air-drying, my brushes were soft, clean, and had a pleasant smell.

image

I was ordering something for O on drugstore.com a few days ago when I noticed a sale on E.L.F. products. After the success I had with the brush cleaner, I thought it would be silly not to take advantage of the even cheaper prices… I ended up ordering 4 things to try, plus a bar of African black soap that I’m way excited about.

The FedEx guy came today, and I was so excited to get my goodies that I ran outside in my jammies to meet him. I’m sure he was impressed by my wild hair and the streak of peanut butter on my cheek.

I have a toddler, ok?

image

So I immediately ripped the box open to examine my goodies. I ended up with a shimmer eye pencil, lip primer and plumper, an eyeshadow quad, and lip exfoliator.

And yes, the soap…which smells strongly of bubble gum. I know this because the very first thing I did upon opening the box was to peel the soap wrapper back a bit and stick my nose in it.

And then I went ahead and sniffed everything else.

Once O was down for a nap I took my new lovlies into the bathroom because there was no way I was waiting to try everything.

First up was the lip exfoliator. I ignored the package directions and massaged it into my lips straight from the tube. It was gritty, but not unpleasant, and it tasted like candy. Plus, my lips felt pretty smooth after!

image

Once they were exfoliated, I applied the primer and plumper. The primer seemed to smooth out my lips and I think would really make a lip color pop…but I couldn’t find my favorite lipstick. The plumper? Well, I’m not sure if it made them any bigger, but my lips did sting for a bit. It tasted like the cinnamon candy my grandma used make, so I’ll keep using it.

image

I tried the shimmer eyeliner next…

image

Pretty cool of them to put the sharpener in the lid, I think!

I was a little disappointed in this one, because I didn’t see much shimmer. Still, it went on smoothly and so far it hasn’t smuged. Also? That Pinterest trick where you draw a hashtag with liner and smudge to make a smokey eye? It actually works pretty well.

image

I should mention that I had no additional eye makeup/primer/mascara on in the pic… Only the E.L.F. liner.

I didn’t have a chance to try my eyeshadow quad.

image

I have pretty high hopes for it, though.

So there you have it. Proof that you don’t have to spend a ton of money to get quality beauty products.

One other thing…

I accidentally ordered two of the lip exfoliator. I’ve decided to send it to one lucky reader…All you have to do to enter is leave a comment telling me what your absolute favorite beauty product is. I’ll randomly select a winner on Monday. Pretty easy, huh?*

Don’t be stingy, share this post so your friends have an opportunity to enter!

This giveaway has ended…Check back soon to see who won!

*One entry per person. Open to residents of the continental United States only. Sorry, family members are not eligible to win.

**This is NOT a sponsored post. ELF cosmetics has no idea who I am and I paid for all products myself.

