I had tentative plans yesterday to meet up with a friend that was in town for a short time.

I knew she would be busy trying to see everyone, but she had some free time during the day. I let her know that I had to go to town, but that O would need to nap first. Then to illustrate my point, I sent a video of The Grouchy One in all his grouchy glory.

Of course he was not in the mood to cooperate, and it was getting later in the morning. I decided to run to the store regardless of his napless status, thinking his grumpiness might be hunger. We grabbed some lunch and ran our errands, then I headed home to put the groceries away before meeting up with my friend. I considered leaving the stuff in the car, but I didn’t want to take a chance that the milk would freeze and explode in my car. Yes, it’s already that cold in Indiana.

Don’t worry, next week it’s supposed to be above 50°. My sinuses hurt just thinking about it.

ANYWAY.

So of course O would decide that naptime needed to happen omgrightnow when we got home. I put him in his crib and sent my friend a message. She said her kid was napping, too, so no biggie.

I cleaned the house a bit and started working on dinner, and I was surprised to see how much tine had passed when my little stinker woke up at 5:30.

I thought, “I need to message friend and let her know that we won’t make it before 6.”

This is where my mom brain kicked in.

This morning, I opened messenger to send my mom a message. I noticed the previous day’s conversation with my friend and opened it…only to see that I had actually never sent the message after he woke up. I instantly felt like a huge asshole, because I had completely  left her hanging. I was also super pissed because I had really been looking forward to the visit.

I sent her a message and apologized, but I have felt like a humongous douche all day.

I wish I could say this is the first time it’s happened but…

At least once a day I think, “I’ll reply to that text in a second…”, then I put my phone down and completely forget. Sometimes for days.

I have been meaning to call my insurance company now for almost a month, but I never remember until the office is closed for the evening, or on the weekend.

I spent a good hour and a half working on a grocery list the other day. I went through the freezer, fridge, and pantry to determine what we had, then checked the recipes I wanted to try for the week and wrote down what I needed. Then I got to the store and realized the list was still on the kitchen counter.

You don’t even want to know how frequently I say, “That was today?!

I used to have a handle on stuff. In high school, I rarely wrote down assignments…I just remembered what I needed to do. I have an uncanny nack for picking up song lyrics. I can still recite the Greek alphabet after learning it in college, for crying out loud.

Yet, now that I’m a mom I can’t remember to put toilet paper on the grocery list (not that it matters, if it doesn’t make it to the store with me). I forget my point halfway through a story and end up feeling silly for bringing it up in the first place… And I would bet my life savings that there’s a load of clothes in the dryer that I’ve forgotten about.

image

Well lookie there!

What happened to me? Does this ever go away, or am I doomed to forever be feebly saying, “I’m sorry, I forgot”?

Please tell me I’m not alone in this.

