I think he knew something was up, because yesterday morning my boy started trying to wake up around 5:30. Birthday or not, this mama wasn’t having it. He did eventually go back to sleep, but at seven he was awake for real.

We went downstairs for a diaper change and some refrigerator oatmeal for breakfast. By the time he was done eating, The BF was awake. I decided to let O open his gifts from us so he could spend the morning playing with them.

image

image

He loved his new mixing bowl and measuring cups/spoons so much that he had to take them in the bath. He has so much fun pretending to cook.

The birthday boy took a nap while I showered and daddy went off to cut wood.

Once we’d all cleaned up and made ourselves all presentable-like, we went to the restaurant, where we ate yummy Mexican food and partied pretty hard.

image

We like to start 'em young around here. Ok, no we don't, there's no alcohol in that.

image

The bear is yellow cake filled with cocoa cream cheese buttercream and peanut butter frosting. The 2 cake is chocolate with cream cheese frosting.

image

A better pic of the cake topper I made.

image

My niece is super cute.

We had a wonderful time, and O loved seeing everyone. When we came home, he immediately stuck a pair of his brand-new big boy underwear on his head and went wild playing with his new toys.

As I was putting him to bed, I asked if he had a good day. He looked up at me with the sweetest smile and said, “Haybirday”.

I melted.

And then The Bf and I might have helped ourselves to another piece of cake.

