I did not have high hopes for this one, guys.

It was one of those days…I knew I needed to go to the store but I had been working on O’s Halloween costume and let it get too late in the day.

I knew I had a pound of ground beef in the freezer…along with a few pieces of cooked bacon. A hunk of Velveeta (yes, Velveeta) was hanging out in my cheese drawer.

I thought about making cheeseburgers, but we had no buns…I noticed that we did have spaghetti and a light bulb went off.

Bacon cheeseburger spaghetti? It sounded like something that could go either way, so I decided to give it a shot.
I’m a risk taker.

Everything came together pretty quickly with this one, and I was surprised at just how good it was. I ate a huge portion, and so did O. The BF was convinced he had Ebola (turns out, just a head cold), but even he ate a pretty big helping.

I suggest you try this soon, especially if you have kids that love cheeseburgers.

Bacon cheeseburger spaghetti

1 pound ground beef

1 green pepper, diced

1 small onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

Worcestershire sauce (a few shakes)

Salt and pepper

3-6 strips of bacon

1 can tomatoes, drained

About 1/4 of a block of Velveeta, cubed

1-2 tablespoons mustard

1-2 tablespoons ketchup

About 1/4 package dried spaghetti

Start by browning your beef in a skillet with the green pepper, onion, garlic, salt and pepper, and worcestershire over medium-high heat. Strain.

Fry the bacon in the same skillet until crispy. Remove to a paper towel lined plate, then pour off most of the grease.

Pour the ground beef back into the skillet. Add tomatoes, cheese, mustard, and ketchup. Stir to combine, then let cook over medium-low heat until cheese melts and everything combines.

While you’re waiting for the cheese to melt, boil your spaghetti according to the package directions. Drain.

Crumble your cooked bacon and add it to the sauce mixture, stir, and taste. Add more ketchup and mustard if you like.

Serve with salad and garlic bread.

Because I was mostly just throwing stuff together, I didn’t get any good pictures. I did snap a quick pic of the leftovers just before they went into the fridge.

image

Trust me, it may not look like much, but it was really, really good.

Also!

Please don’t forget about my Breast cancer research fundraiser  (and giveaway!). I’m going to keep it going a little longer since there have been some issues with the website.

Plus…If you missed yesterday’s news… I found out when my episode of The Doctors airs! Click the link to get the details.

