A few days ago, I stopped by my friend’s house to make sure the curtain I was making for her fit the intended window. We had a nice visit, my kid inhaled two muffins, and we left with pumpkins from their pumpkin patch.

I was pretty stoked to have pumpkins. Last year, I cubed and roasted some with a little sea salt and Parmesan cheese and O loved it. As soon as I got home, I split one and roasted it with brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter.

Once it cooled, I dumped the pumpkin into a food processor with some vanilla yogurt, then I mixed it with some oatmeal and popped it into the fridge overnight. The next morning, O had pumpkin spice refrigerator oatmeal for breakfast.

I was trying to figure out what to do with the other little pie pumpkin when I saw a few recipes for pumpkin butter on Pinterest. It sounded good, so at 7:30 this morning I hacked the pumpkin in half and stuck it in the crockpot.

Don’t attempt to cut a pumpkin in half before you’ve had your coffee. I’m still not sure how all of my fingers are intact.

Anyway, this was all very experimental. All of the Pinterest recipes called for canned pumpkin puree, so I guessed that I could at least soften the pumpkin in the slow cooker before cutting it out of the shell.

Turns out, you can totally cook a pumpkin in the crock pot.

So after a lot of guessing and a little accident that involved some pumpkin hitting the floor…I ended up with some damn good pumpkin butter.

Here’s how you can have some, too:

Slow cooker pumpkin butter

1 small pie pumpkin
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup 100% apple juice
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1-2 teaspoons salt

Cut the pumpkin in half and scoop out the seeds and pulp. Put the halves into the slow cooker with about 1/2 to 3/4 cup water in the bottom and let it cook on high until it softens, 2 or three hours.  ***

When the pumpkin is soft, carefully remove it from the cooker and let it cool a bit on a plate (this is how some of mine ended up on the floor). Dump the water out of your slow cooker.

Scoop the pumpkin flesh out of the rind and put it back into the slow cooker. Add the remaining ingredients, turn it to low, and let it cook for about another hour.

Transfer the pumpkin to a food processor or blender. Give it some time to sit with the lid off so it can cool, then blend until you have the consistency you like. I actually ran my through a mesh strainer instead of blending it because O was napping. You’ll get the same result either way, but I’m guessing your arm won’t be as tired if you use a blender.

***Alternatively, you could cut the pumpkin away from the rind first, then just throw everything into the slow cooker on high for about three hours (or until the pumpkin is soft), then blend it all together.***

You could can this, or store it in an airtight container in the fridge for a few days.

If it lasts that long.

I couldn’t wait until it cooled to try it, so I buttered a piece of bread, topped it with pumpkin butter, and cramed it into my face ate it in a ladylike manner.

image

I couldn't even be bothered to get a real plate.

image

It isn't in a Mason jar with a hand-lettered tag and a burlap ribbon. Pinterest is probably ashamed.

I’m currently working up the motivation to make some biscuits so we can eat this for breakfast in the morning. Something tells me a flaky, buttery, warm biscuit would be the perfect partner to this pumpkin butter. Or maybe we’ll just eat it straight from the container with spoons.

Don’t forget about my Breast Cancer Research Foundation giveaway! Check out the details in this post and enter. I’m about to add to the prize, so stay tuned!

