One morning last week, I was getting O’s breakfast ready when I noticed the freezer door was open. Thinking I must not have shut it, I pushed it closed and settled O in his highchair.

As I started making the coffee, (maybe opening the can gave my brain a jolt?) I realized that I hadn’t been in the freezer during the half hour that I’d been awake. I opened the door and poked at a bag of strawberries…Mushy. The ice had mostly melted into a puddle, and the ice cream was now soup.

This was all pretty upsetting since I had just gone grocery shopping the day before, but I was mostly annoyed over the loss of all those chestnuts.

I butchered my thumbs for nothing, it seemed.

Well, almost.

The day before, I used some of the chetnuts in a recipe. It was delicious…And there were leftovers packed safely away in the fridge. Luckily, O and I were able to enjoy some of the chestnuts we foraged for in those leftovers for the next couple of days.

This is the perfect kind of minimal-effort Thanksgiving side dish, by the way. Make it soon, and I think you will agree!

Brussels sprouts with chestnuts and bacon

1 pound brussels sprouts, cleaned and halved

3 strips of bacon

A good handfull of roasted chestnuts, quartered (if you don’t want big chunks, give ’em a rough chop)

1/2 cup water

2 tablespoons cold butter

Salt and pepper

Start by frying bacon over medium heat. Remove from pan and drain on a paper towel. Add brussels sprouts to pan and saute for five minutes, or until you get some color to them. Pour in water, then cover and steam for about 8 minutes. Uncover and add chestnuts. After the chestnuts have warmed through (about five minutes), remove from heat, add butter, and stir until it melts and creates a bit of a sauce. Crumble bacon over and add salt and pepper to taste.

image

This is practically fall in a skillet. Even brussels sprouts haters may be lining up for seconds…In fact, you may want to double or triple the recipe to make sure you get some!

Or just refuse to share. I won’t judge.

