I’m always on the hunt for healthy and tasty snacks, and I keep seeing roasted chickpeas pop up on my Pinterest feed. After reading a handful of recipes, I grabbed a couple of cans at the store to try my hand at making them.

It turns out, these are super easy, customizable, and tasty as can be. You could even toss these with pretzels and other goodies for an awesome snack mix.

Because I love Parmesan cheese, I decided to include it in my first attempt. Here’s what you need:

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and dried thoroughly (I spread mine out between two towels for a few minutes)

About a teaspoon of garlic powder

2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese (you can add more if that’s not enough)

1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat your oven to 375Β° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Toss the dried chickpeas with olive oil, garlic, and cheese in a bowl with a tightly fitting lid. Spread them in a single layer on the parchment and bake for 30-45 minutes, or until crunchy.

Alternatively, you could dry roast them, then toss them with the oil, garlic, and cheese while they’re still hot.

There are plenty of other flavors you could make… I think you could dry roast them, then toss them in butter, then cinnamon and sugar for a sweet snack… Or maybe in chili powder and a squeeze of lime juice. The possibilities are almost endless.

image

I pretty much spent a dollar to make these, since the only thing I had to buy was the can of beans. O really enjoyed them…I took some out a little early so he could snack on them. I was afraid the crunchy ones would be too hard for him…Then again, my kid is a human garbage disposal. I’m sure he would’ve been fine.

I will definitely start making these more frequently. I see a big batch of them going with us as a pool day snack in the near future.

