I’m sure I’ve said this before, but I really love Independence Day.  It’s even better now that I’m a mom, because watching O get into the festivities was really entertaining this year (last year he slept through most of it).

Friday, O and I went to my mom and dad’s house so I could work on an article. O decided to fall flat on his face while on a walk, and ended up with a festive firework right on his forehead.

image

This kid, I swear.

Not that it bothered him. He apparently popped right up, started to cry, and then noticed some dogs fenced in a neighbor’s yard. Suddenly, all was well.

After The BF finished working, we made a trip to a local fireworks store and picked up enough for a little backyard display. It was still pretty bright out when we started, but O really loved watching his daddy light the fuse and run away.

image

Once it got darker, we went to the front yard and watched the big fireworks displays that were going on around us. I think at one point I counted five different displays that we could see… we were surrounded! O ran around the front yard catching fireflies, occasionally stopping to point out fireworks and yell, “BOOOOOOOM!”

On Saturday, we headed to our little lake property. At the last minute, I decided to make a flag cake… Mostly because I wanted cake. For making it up as I went, I think it turned out well!

image

It’s a layer of sliced poundcake, topped with a whipped cream/ cream cheese/ powdered sugar/ vanilla mixture, topped with fresh berries. Then top with another layer of sliced poundcake, more cream cheese mixture,  and berries arranged to look like a flag. Refrigerate until you’re ready to serve…It’s delish!

image

Once it started to get dark, we headed down to the lake and boarded The BF’s uncle’s boat (ours is in need of a repair or two before we can get it out). The older kids had a ball swimming around the boat, while O enjoyed checking it all out.

image

I bought tons of glow necklaces and bracelets at the Dollar Tree, since I didn’t want O getting too close to sparklers. I think the adults had more fun with them than the kids!

After the fireworks,  O fell asleep. We tucked him in on the couch and then hung out by the fire and ate s’mores.

Sunday was a pretty lazy day. Once O was down for a nap, I finished my article and sent it off to the client. We grilled cheeseburgers and corn on the cob for dinner, with cole slaw, potato salad,  and some cantaloupe that we picked up at a roadside stand.

It was a great weekend…I definitely wasn’t ready for it to end.

How did you celebrate the 4th?

