I’ve been kicking the idea of some kind of slow-roasted, herb-crusted pork loin around in my head for a couple of days now. I don’t know why, but it’s been a while since I made a pork loin. Even though the bacon-wrapped loin I made a while ago was delicious, I didn’t want to go that route.

Since we were having some nasty weather Thursday,  The BF came home just as I was feeding the boy lunch. I had planned to go to the store as soon as he finished, but since The BF was home I asked if he could hang out with the boy while I ran to town.

My Lord, guys…I can’t believe I used to shop by myself all the time. I took my time looking at the fresh herbs, and I actually spent a little while choosing a pork loin instead of grabbing the first one I got a hand on.

I was deep in thought looking at the pork loins when I happened to glance over at the cart. My heart stopped when I realized O was not sitting in the seat, and suddenly my mind was going a million miles a second. “Did he climb out? Did someone take him? JesusMaryandJoseph I have LOST MY CHILD. What THE HELL kind of mother looses her child in front of the meat case at the grocery store?! I had ONE job…”

…And then I remembered that he was hanging out at home with Daddy. Oops.

Anyway, the pork loin is so awesome that it’s almost worth the heart attack I had while picking it out. I suggest you plan to make this soon, but maybe just go ahead and take the kids shopping with you.

Herb marinated pork loin

1 2-3 pound pork loin (mine was close to three pounds)

About a handful each of the following fresh herbs:
Basil
Rosemary
Parsley (I used curly, but flat leaf is fine)

3 cloves garlic

A palm full of dried thyme (you could use fresh, but my store was out)

A palm full of dried minced onion

Coarse sea salt or Kosher salt

Freshly cracked black pepper

Olive oil

1 medium onion

1/2 cup chicken broth

Rinse the fresh herbs. Pat them dry, then toss them into a food processor along with the whole garlic cloves.

image

This baby food mini food processor was the best 20 bucks we spent. I still use it!

Pulse until everything is more or less demolished. Add a little olive oil (maybe a couple of tablespoons) and your dried thyme and onion. Pulse a few more times to really pulverize everything.

Place your hunk o’ pork into a gallon freezer bag. Spoon contents of processor on top of the pork, then grind a bunch of pepper over everything and toss a good palm full of sea or Kosher salt in. Drizzle in about 1/4 cup of olive oil (just eyeball it) and then rub everything into the meat. Don’t be afraid to really work it in. Get rid of the air in the bag, seal ‘er up, and park that pork in your fridge (bottom shelf, please) overnight.

image

🎶 Heeeeeeyyyy, good lookin' 🎶

After letting it marinate overnight, put the pork loin into your crock pot and add the medium onion, (cut into quarters) and chicken broth. Turn the crock pot to high, put a lid on it, and walk away. After about four hours, turn it to low and let it cook for another fiveish hours.

image

I served mine with roasted lemon pepper broccoli, fried potatoes, and Hawaiian rolls.

image

image

The best thing about this dinner? The leftovers last for days and are really versatile! I think we’ll either have pulled pork barbecue sliders (on Hawaiian rolls, of course) or pulled pork tacos for dinner tonight…

If The BF didn’t make a midnight snack out of the pork…You just never know with that guy.

