After all of the cheese and heavy alfredo sauce in our French bread pizzas, I decided we should have something on the lighter side for dinner last night.

image

I’m a huge fan of pasta…My favorite way to eat it is with a bit of butter and a sprinkle of Parmesan.  The BF would likely be a bit confused if I put that in front of him, wondering why there was no meat. Happily, I think I found a way to keep it pretty simple and still satisfy the manly carnivore I live with.

Simple penne pasta

1/2 to 3/4 box penne pasta

Olive oil

About 1 tablespoon butter

1/2 medium red onion, roughly chopped

2-3 cloves garlic,  minced

1 container grape tomatoes

About 3/4 cup mushrooms (or more if you love mushrooms), roughly chopped

Leftover rotisserie chicken

3-4 largeish basil leaves

Freshly cracked black pepper

Salt

Parmesan cheese

Heat a little olive oil in a skillet over medium.  Add butter, onions, and whole grape tomatoes. Sauté until tomatoes begin to burst open. Add mushrooms,  chicken, and garlic, then season with salt and pepper. Let everything cook while you boil the pasta according to package directions.

Drain pasta, then add it to the skillet along with the basil (I chose to chiffonade mine, but feel free to just rip it up). Give everything a stir and let it cook for another five minutes or so. Serve topped with cheese, salad and garlic bread on the side.

image

image

Pretty quick, satisfying,  and it won’t leave you feeling like you swallowed a bowling ball. You could add any veggies you like, and if you don’t have rotisserie chicken just used baked chicken breast.

The boy cleaned his plate, and The BF ate two helpings. We have just enough leftover for O and I to have lunch today.

Too bad it’s only 10:30 am.

