After a crazy two weeks of near-constant crocheting and multiple post office runs, I finally have time to relax. I made 8 pairs of flip flops, 4 owls, a baby duck, and a giraffe.

image

All while keeping up with the normal SAHM stuff. It was nuts.

So I apologize for being so absent lately, but whenever I could squeeze in a few moments of quiet time, I would open WordPress and then just stare at the blank screen.  I couldn’t even muster up a food post, because I relied pretty heavily on some of my old faithful recipes. Well, we also had Taco Bell one night after the boy went to bed. Ok, and there might have been an Arni’s pizza, too.

I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining…I’ve had a really awesome couple of weeks and yesterday was kind of the icing on the cake. We loaded up the van and took a trip to Fishers for a birthday party (the birthday boy was the recipient of the giraffe). O had a ball playing outside and making new friends. Of course, we all had party food and cake with ice cream. O was more concerned with playing than eating, so mama had to eat most of his cake.

It’s rough being a mama sometimes.

After the party, we stopped by my friend’s bakery (You should check it out: Sweet Home Cupcakes in Noblesville,  IN). I was blown away by the amount of work she and her husband have been putting into the place and I can’t wait to visit when she re-opens. She even gave us a couple of lemon cupcakes to take home. Have I ever mentioned my love for lemon confections?

We decided to stop for dinner at a Mexican place before heading home since O didn’t eat much at the party. He scarfed down some French fries and chicken nuggets while The BF and I had pollo fundido and tacos. I even got a little wild and had Pepsi.

By the time we got home, the boy was sound asleep. We changed his diaper and put some comfy pants on him, then off to bed he went. When I got back downstairs,  the bakery box was sitting on the counter mocking me. I knew I didn’t need to eat a cupcake after everything else I had eaten but… how could I resist that lemony goodness?

I gave in, and it was the best darn lemon cake I’ve ever had. The perfect (if not slightly glutinous) end to a really lovely day.

image

Top: O having a blast playing outside. Bottom left: The giraffe I made for the birthday boy. Bottom right: Got some new bling at the party!

I have spent today doing some major spring cleaning and enjoying the company of The BF’s wonderful mom. It’s been a good weekend.

