I finally went to the grocery store yesterday, without a list because I like to live dangerously. I had a very vague idea of what I wanted to get,  but I thought it might be nice to just wander the aisles to see what called out to me.

I ended up with a pretty good haul for under a hundred dollars, even though I got home and realized I had forgotten eggs. Because, of course.

Forgotten eggs aside, it was nice to once again have a stocked pantry and a full refrigerator. 

image

For dinner, I made an easy, one skillet smoked sausage and wild rice that was insanely good. Paired with 7-Up biscuits and some leftover roasted zucchini and cauliflower,  it was a really satisfying meal.

Smoked sausage and wild rice

1 package smoked sausage (I used turkey), cut into 1/2 inch slices

1 green pepper, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

3-4 largeish mushrooms,  chopped

3/4 cup brown rice

1/4 cup wild rice

1 box (32 ounces) chicken stock

Chopped fresh parsley (about a handful)

Heat a very small amount of oil in a cast iron skillet over medium. When oil is hot, add sausage and let cook undisturbed for a couple of minutes. Toss in onions, green pepper, and mushrooms, then give it a stir. Let everything cook until onions are slightly translucent.  Scoot everyone to the side, then add the rice in the empty spot. Let it toast for a bit, then stir everything together. Pour in about half of your chicken broth (make sure everything is covered) and bring to a simmer. Let that continue to simmer for at least 30 minutes. Make sure to check it occasionally and add broth if necessary.

image

After 30 minutes, take a look at the liquid level. If there’s still quite a bit in there let it go a little bit longer. If most of the liquid has absorbed, reduce the heat to low and cover for about another 30 minutes or until the wild rice splits open and puffs up.

Toss in a handful of fresh chopped parsley right before serving. That stuff is magic, I tell ya.

image

