Some days, I feel like a contestant on Chopped. Yesterday was definitely one of those days… I stood there, staring into my pantry and fridge, wondering just what I was going to do with pork chops, half a dozen assorted condiments, a head of lettuce, and three zucchinis I forgot about.

I should have gone to the store, but it was snowy (yes, in March) and I didn’t feel like putting real pants on.

I found a packet of onion soup mix hiding in the back of my pantry, and I wondered if it would be good mixed into barbecue sauce.

I ended up mixing about 3/4 cup of barbecue sauce with a little ketchup, mustard, Country Bob’s, Worcestershire, molasses, brown sugar, and the packet of soup mix. Once combined, I swirled some water in the almost empty barbecue sauce bottle (to catch all of the sauce that wouldn’t come out) and poured that in, too. The sauce was actually really good. Go figure.

I preheated the oven to 350Ā° and lightly oiled a cast iron skillet. After spreading a thin layer of sauce on the bottom, I lightly seasoned four chops with salt and pepper and arranged them in the skillet. Most of the sauce then got poured over the chops, and I set the remaining sauce in the fridge. Once the oven was ready, I covered the skillet tightly with foil and popped it into the oven for an hour.

When the timer went off, I bumped the oven up to 425Ā° so I could roast some veggies.  I added the rest of the sauce to the chops, re – covered the skillet,  and moved it to the bottom rack to make room for my cookie sheet of zucchini. I let everything bake until The BF got home and declared that he was hungry. About 30 minutes or so?

image

It turned out really well. The chops were really moist from baking in the sauce, and the onion soup mix added a really nice flavor to the barbecue. 

I’d like to think the ol’ stuff shirt judges on Chopped would send me to the dessert round after trying this. As for the lettuce… well, I didn’t have anything to go with it but it needed to be used. I washed it and ripped it up for salad.

So what if the “salad” was just lettuce with dressing on it?

