I love peanut butter. I love it so much that I have actually eaten an entire jar with a spoon… not in one sitting, but by sneaking little bites here and there until I had consumed every bit without spreading it on or adding it to anything.

The first year of the boy’s life was a bit hard for me, because until that all – important first birthday, babies can’t have peanut products. I didn’t want to risk cross – contamination, so I stayed away from peanut butter for the most part. It was awful.

I wanted to check for a peanut butter allergy as soon as I possibly could, so the morning of the boy’s one year checkup I plopped a jar of peanut butter and a spoon into the diaper bag. I got a bit of a strange look from the nurse, but she brought me a timer and set it for 30 minutes.  I gave the boy a spoonful of the good stuff and waited. When the timer went off, we had a fresh bruise (from him falling onto a crate) but no reaction. Peanut Butter was safe!

Hallelujah!

Since that day, I have slowly introduced peanut butter to the boy in a few different ways. He isn’t super stoked about it on toast, bet he really loves it in cookies.

Ok, who doesnt…right?

Yesterday I wanted to make the boy a quick treat but I wasn’t in the mood to dig out a ton of stuff. I see five ingredient cookie recipes all the time and ignore them, but I thought I would give one a shot. I never found one that was exactly what I wanted, so I used a few Pinterest recipes as a guide and made one of my own.

Here’s my super – speedy peanut butter cookie recipe:

1 cup peanut butter (I used creamy but crunchy would probably be good, too)

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 egg

1/2 cup oats

Preheat your oven to 350°. Mix all ingredients until well combined. Scoop heaping tablespoons of dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet, then press down a bit. They will spread, so make sure to place them at least an inch or two apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until they are golden brown. Let them cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before you move them to a cooling rack…They are super delicate straight from the oven. One pretty much disintegrated when I tried to move it right away.

image

I may never make peanut butter cookies the normal way again. This recipe made 14 cookies and it was incredibly difficult to keep from eating them all. I made these while O was eating lunch (split pea soup with ham, taters, and carrots if you wondered…oh, and toast sticks), so we shared one (ok, two) when he finished. When still a bit warm, these have a slightly crispy exterior and a chewy middle. After cooling completely they become crispy and almost…flaky? Crumbly? I’m not sure how to describe it, other than delicious.

You really need to try these. If I didn’t already have plans to bake something tomorrow (it’s a Very Special Day) I would be baking another batch right now. Luckily, we still have a few left.

But not for long…

