image

I got a big ol’ bag of Hershey’s Kisses in my most recent Influenster vox box (among other awesome goodies) and I knew I had to make cookies. The bag even agreed with me, because what did I find on the back?

image

It was a message from above. Or from Hershey’s…

I only made one substitution. My mom and dad were planning to stop by and I wanted them to be able to eat a cookie or two, so I used Country Crock instead of the shortening (which is full of trans-fat).

I know that picture is probably hard to read, so here’s the recipe:

48 Hershey’s Kisses

1/2 cup shortening OR margerine

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Extra granulated sugar for dipping

Preheat oven to 375°. Mix shortening and peanut butter together until smooth, then add sugar and brown sugar and beat until fluffy. Add the egg, milk, and vanilla and stir.

Mix flour, salt, and baking soda together, then add to the peanut butter mixture a little at a time until a soft dough forms. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and then dip into the extra sugar. Place dough balls on an ungreased cookie sheet, about an inch apart. Bake 8-10 minutes.

While the cookies are baking, unwrap the kisses and try not to eat them all. As soon as the cookies come out of the oven, press a kiss into the center of each one. Place finished cookies on a rack to cool.

image

I actually had one of these cookies with my coffee this morning and I think it was a perfect breakfast.

Oh, who am I kidding? I had three. And a half.

image

