I have this friend… She’s actually the mother of one of my oldest and dearest friends, so I’ve known her for practically my whole life. Anyway, this woman really knows her way around the kitchen and I’ve been lucky enough to lend her a hand occasionally.  It was on one such morning that I was at her house, helping her put together a delicious meatloaf dinner, when she realized she had made an approximate ton of macaroni and cheese. Not wanting any of it to go to waste, she asked if I wanted to take some home.

Well who am I to say no to macaroni and cheese?

O had macaroni and cheese with his dinner that night, then mixed with peas, carrots, and diced chicken for lunch the next day.  He was in heaven, but I knew if he ate too much more of the mac and cheese he wouldn’t poop for a week. I needed a way to use it up.

“Why not roll it in balls, coat it in breadcrumbs and more cheese, and then fry it up?”, said my internal health nut.

That’s exactly what I did. I served them with Sriracha mayo (just for the grownups) to be even more healthy.**

Sometimes you just have to throw caution to the wind.

Fried mac and cheese bites:

Cold leftover mac and cheese (I had about 2 cups)

1 cup Bisquick (or flour)

2 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups Italian breadcrumbs

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Oil for frying (I used Canola)

Start by setting out three shallow dishes (pie pans work really well). Bisquick goes in the first dish, then beaten eggs, and last will be breadcrumbs and parm mixed together.

Pour about 1/2 inch of oil into a fry pan and turn the heat to medium. I test the oil by flicking a teeny amount of water at the pan. If it pops and crackles, it’s ready!***

I made each bite about the size of a Girl Scout cookie. Scoop some of the cold mac and chees, shape it into a flat round, then start dipping in the order above. Bisquick, egg, breadcrumbs. Make sure to shake the excess off after each dip, then set them in a single layer on a paper plate.

When the oil is hot enough, begin frying the bites four or five at a time. It will only take about 30 seconds to a minute on each side, so watch them carefully. Once they are golden brown on both sides, quickly remove them to a paper towel lined plate.

image

image

Feel free to give them a little dusting of salt if you like. For the Sriracha mayo, just mix mayonnaise with as much Sriracha as you can handle. It’s the best thing to dip French fries in, too!

We gobbled these up in record time, and O was asking for “Mo? Mo?” I’d say they went over well.

**This is sarcasm. I don’t think one single element of these mac and cheese bites would be considered healthy.

***It occurred to me that this is probably not the safest way to see if oil is hot enough for frying. You might want to get out your thermometer.  Look for a temperature between 325° and 375°.

