Pinterest is dangerous.

Last night I was scrolling through the Food and Drink section when I saw a pin for soft pretzel bites. I don’t know if you’ve noticed yet, but I have quite a bread addiction going on here. When I saw the recipe, I pinned it…then I pinned a couple more… then I went to sleep and had dreams about soft pretzels.

Well ok, I actually had a dream that someone dyed my hair blue and said I looked like Katy Perry and I was quite distraught because I really can’t stand her…But you probably didn’t want to know that.

ANYWAY.

So I woke up this morning and rejoiced that Superbowl day had dawned and that meant SNACKS. And chili cheese dogs for dinner.

Chili cheese dogs…on soft pretzel buns. 
While the boy ate lunch, I made the cheeseball and got the buns started.  By the time I had covered the dough to rise, it was nap time for O (who is in the middle of getting FIVE teeth right now, NBD). I was able to get him down and finish the dishes before the dough was ready, and I managed to get them in the oven before he woke up.

The recipe I used can be found at BiteMeMore.com and I followed it exactly. For once.

Hint: you could probably get away with less than sixteen cups of water, just make sure to adjust the baking soda to water ratio accordinly.

image

image

I’m very happy with how these turned out. I ended up with eight buns, but The BF wandered through the kitchen and stole one. He must approve, because after he finished his stolen bun he went back to touch the rest of them. “You don’t know where my hands have been…”, he said.

I don’t think he realizes…I don’t care. I’m still going to eat my chili cheese dog on a delicious pretzel bun.

