I keep seeing this recipe for biscuits pop up on Pinterest. The magical ingredient is 7-Up and the recipe’s claim is that they’re the softest and fluffiest biscuits you’ll ever make.

I typically scroll by recipes like this one. I don’t drink pop so I never have it in the house. I get an occasional craving for a flavored Coke (I miss the chocolate Cokes from my college town’s Zip n’ Sip) but my lack of willpower is usually eliminated by a stronger desire to stay in my comfy pants.

Wait, where was I? Oh yes…Biscuits.

So I had pretty much written this one off until I happened to be scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed one day. My friend Carla was raving about these 7-Up biscuits…Now, I have never had the pleasure of eating something Carla made but she seems to know her way around the kitchen. When she talks food, I generally listen. Since these biscuits got the Carla stamp of approval, I suddenly really wanted to make them.

I have to say, the recipe’s claims really held up. Light and fluffy? Were they ever!

I actually adapted the recipe a bit, so here’s what you’ll need to make them like I did:

4 cups Bisquick

1 cup plain yogurt

1 cup 7-Up

1/2 cup margerine,  melted

Preheat oven to 425°.

Combine the first three ingredients in a bowl and mix until a sticky dough forms. Sprinkle more Bisquick over a work surface, then knead the dough a few times until the surface is no longer sticking to your hands. Pat the dough flat, to about 2 to 2 1/2 inch thickness. Use a biscuit cutter or a glass to cut the biscuits (if it sticks to the dough, spray it with nonstick spray or dip it into Bisquick).

Pour about half of the melted butter into the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish and place the biscuits on top of the butter. Brush remaining butter over the biscuits, then bake for 12-15 minutes.

image

I served these with sausage, potatoes and green beans last night and they were a big hit! I think they’ll be really good with the sausage gravy I’m making tonight…

And then maybe we should have a month of salads. Yikes.

