Yep. That title is pretty lame.

BUT.

What I’m making for dinner tonight is not! It’s so easy that I feel weird calling it a recipe.

Maybe it’s just an Indiana thing, but I’ve been eating smoked sausage with potatoes and green beans since…Well, probably since I could eat solid food. My mom would make a big pot of it so we even had leftovers. Much like chili, this is even better the next day.

To make this cold weather comfort food, assemble the following:

1 package Smoked sausage

About 1/2 of a medium onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 can of green beans, drained

4 or 5 medium potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks

1 32 ounce box chicken stock

Salt and pepper

image

Heat a stock pot on medium. Cut the sausage into bite sized chunks and throw ’em in the pot. Add the onion and garlic and cook until fragrant, stirring occasionally so nothing burns.

Add potatoes and green beans, then pour the chicken stock over everything. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat to medium low and let simmer until potatoes are fork tender.

You could also dump everything into your crockpot and let it cook all day if you like.

image

I usually serve this with cottage cheese and biscuits.  Tonight, I’m making 7-Up biscuits because my friend Carla says they’re the bees knees. I’m excited to try them!

What are you having for dinner?

