I think we can all agree that pizza is full of awesome, and homemade pizza is even better. Don’t get me wrong, I won’t turn my nose up at a slice from a pizza place…but by the time we get it home (no one delivers to us country folk) the cheese has congealed and the crust is soggy. There’s just nothing quite like a slice of fresh – outta – the – oven pizza that you made yourself.

I’ve always gone the store bought crust route because, honestly, it’s just easier.  I’ve always wondered if homemade crust would be better, though… So when I discovered a recipe for pizza crust in my KitchenAid book I decided to give it a shot. Was it better?

Leaps and bounds, y’all.

I know you guys probably can’t wait to try this for yourselves, so how about we get crackin’?

Pizza crust (Recipe from KitchenAid)

You need:

1 envelope active dry yeast

1 cup warm water (105° F to 115°F)

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons olive oil

2 1/2 to 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Cornmeal

Pizza sauce

Cheese (whatever variety makes your heart sing)

Pizza toppings

I preheat my oven first (450°F) so the dough can rise on the stove top.

Attach the dough hook to your mixer, then pour the warm water into the bowl. Add yeast and let it dissolve, then add salt, oil, and 2 1/2 cups of flour. Mix on speed two for about a minute.

Add remaining flour 1/2 cup at a time until the dough begins to pull away from the sides of the bowl, then let it mix for about two more minutes.

Let dough rise in a greased bowl (I used olive oil) in a warm place for an hour, or until it doubles in size. Or until you suddenly remember it after getting distracted by your toddler’s newest daredevil stunts. You know, whenever. It’ll still be right there waiting for you.

Punch the dough down, then you can do a few different things. I divided it in two, then divided one half into thirds for O’s mini-pizzas. The remaining half got pressed into our cast iron skillet (brush it with a bit of olive oil, then sprinkle cornmeal on the bottom and sides first).

You could easily make one big pizza out of this dough, or a couple of thin crust pizzas. It would make really good calzones, as well. The possibilities are practically endless!

Once you have your dough ready, top it with whatever your heart desires. We used a ton of pepperoni, onions, green peppers, and banana peppers (they just belong on pizza). O’s pizzas got a smidge of sauce, broccoli, green peppers, and cheese. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until exposed crust is golden brown and cheese is melty.

Let is rest for five minutes or so before cutting into it… And try not to burn the roof of your mouth on the molten lava cheese.

image

image

This crust was so easy to make that it would be a crime to buy the pre – made stuff from now on. It actually stayed crunchy under the ton of toppings and sauce, which was nice. Floppy pizza crust is not delicious.

I happen to think this would make a great Super Bowl snack. You could even make a mini-crust for each guest, let them top it however they like, and then bake ’em up.

All I know is, next time I’m making a mini Hawaiian pizza and I’m not sharing.

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

