I don’t know why, but all last week I wanted some egg rolls. Eventually that evolved into a craving for fried rice, too… And by the end of the week I was in serious need of Chinese food.

A can of pineapple has been hanging out in my pantry for a while… So I decided to make some kind of Chinese – ish chicken dish with it.

Get out your slow cooker, friends. This was good… like, my toddler couldn’t get enough of it. Like, I ate so much that I was miserable and still wanted more. Like, as I write this I know of a leftover container full of it in my fridge and I’m having trouble waiting until lunch. That kind of good.

…Yes, I’m planning to share the leftovers with O. But he did have a big breakfast so…He may not be super hungry. Darn.

Ok, so here’s what you need:

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 20 ounce can pineapple chunks

1 small onion

1 green pepper

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon ginger

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tablespoons corn starch plus 1/4 cup cool water

Trim the fat from your chicken and cut it into chunks. Cut onion and green pepper into chunks as well. Toss everything into your slow cooker (line it with a turkey bag to make cleanup easier) and add the pineapple chunks and juice. I swirled a little water around in the can to catch any remaining pineapple and added that, too.

Add soy sauce, brown sugar, and ginger. Give it all a good stir, put a lid on it, and turn it to high for about four hours.

After four hours, turn it to low and let it cook until dinner. I think mine was in the crock pot for about seven hours, total. As long as the chicken is done you could serve it any time. Right before serving, taste the sauce and add any seasonings you think it needs. Add the cornstarch/water mixture and stir to thicken the broth. Serve with egg rolls and fried rice.

image

Yum!

