A few years ago at a family Christmas, I had a bite of a cheeseball that was so delicious…so perfectly sweet and savory… I just had to have more. The next year, that delicious cheeseball was nowhere to be found (much to my dismay). I was sure my Aunt V brought it the year before, so I asked for the recipe…but she looked pretty mystified and couldn’t recall bringing any cheeseball to Christmas. I asked everyone…not one person remembered.

I’ve bugged everyone in my family at every gathering since… to no avail. It eventually became the Holy Grail of cheeseballs and I was on a quest to find it.

Yesterday I decided to start thinking of a Super Bowl menu. Truth be told, football is kind of dead to me after my Colts lost (and my backup team lost in the first round. What the hell, Packers?)… But I can’t just not watch The Big Game. Besides, it gives me a reason to make snacky foods. I love snacky foods.

*queue dramatic music*

I decided to attempt the Holy Grail cheeseball.

After a lot of Googling, I felt like I had an idea of how I wanted to make it. Turns out, it was pretty easy and super delicious. Here’s what you need:

1 8 ounce block cream cheese, softened

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon seasoned salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 stick of butter

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

Roughly 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used a combination of peanuts and pecans)

Mix cream cheese, garlic, seasoned salt, and black pepper until combined. Roll into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill in the fridge.

In a sauce pan, melt butter, brown sugar, and worcestershire sauce together over low heat. Stir frequently, and if it doesn’t want to come together go ahead and add more brown sugar.

Seriously, like more brown sugar could be a bad thing.

Once everything is melted, remove from heat and let cool. Make sure to stir it occasionally so it doesn’t seperate.

Pour the cooled brown sugar mixture over the cheeseball. If your pan is big enough, you could probably also drop the cheeseball in and roll it around. When the cheeseball is coated, roll it around in the nuts. Wrap it in clean plastic wrap and put it back in the fridge for at least four hours.

image

image

EUREKA! Guys, I’ve found the Holy Grail (cheeseball)!

The BF and I stood at the kitchen counter and ate the entire thing in about thirty minutes. I might need to make a bigger one next time.

Stay tuned for more awesome snacky foods, perfect for a Super Bowl party or really any gathering…

Or just make ’em for yourself and pig out. I won’t tell.

What are your favorite party foods?

