Who doesn’t love some banana bread? I mean, seriously… I’d even argue that it’s more American than apple pie. If you don’t like it, I’m not sure we can be friends… ya commie.

Ok, I’m kidding… But I really do love a slice of banana bread warmed and smeared with butter to go along with my morning coffee. I think you should, too.

Banana bread is super simple to make. Unfortunately, I still can’t find my loaf pans (I fear they are lost and gone forever) so I decided to make muffins instead.

Best idea ever.

image

I got the recipe from the BF’s old Fannie Farmer cookbook and it couldn’t be simpler.

3 ripe bananas

2 large eggs

3/4 cup sugar

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

(The original recipe also calls for 1/2 cup nuts, which I did not have. Feel free to throw ’em in if you do.)

Preheat your oven to 350°.

I put the whole bananas into my stand mixer along with the eggs and turned it on 2. Once they were pretty well mixed (you’ll probably still see little banana chunks) I added dry ingredients, starting with the salt, then the baking soda, sugar, and flour.

Make sure everything is combined (you will probably need to stop the mixer and scrape the bowl down at least once), then pour batter into the cups of a greased muffin tin. Feel free to use paper liners if you like.

Each cup should be 2/3 full to get the nicest looking muffins. I got some cupcake batter scoops from the BF’s mom that work really well for this…too bad I forgot about them until I was filling the last one.

image

On a whim, I added mini chocolate chips to the batter before filling the last four cups. They turned out well, so you could sub chocolate chips for some or all of the nuts.

Bake the muffins for 30 minutes, or until they pass the toothpick test and are golden on top.

image

These were dense and moist on the inside, with a slightly crunchy exterior. The flavor wasn’t really BANANA so much as just a subtle hint…but really very lovely.

The BF approved of the chocolate chip addition, and O couldn’t get enough of the plain ones. I think it’s safe to say this recipe is a keeper!

