I hate oatmeal. Seriously, something about the gloppy texture just makes me want to gag. Unfortunately, oatmeal is really good for you, so I forced myself to eat it as often as I could while I was pregnant and especially while breastfeeding. In retrospect, eating it covered in a metric ton of brown sugar and butter probably canceled out the health benefits, but that was the only way I could choke it down.

Mmmmm…butter…

I was really glad to put that cardboard canister on the shelf and forget about it… but when O started eating solids I found myself reaching for it again. Luckily, O will eat just about anything you put in front of him. He got it from his mama.

I felt bad giving him the oatmeal, though… By the time it was cool enough for him to eat it was a lumpy, congealed, sticky mess. Gross.

Not to worry, Pinterest came to the rescue. I remembered scrolling by a recipe (if you can call it that) for refrigerator oatmeal… It was really simple and didn’t require heating. After some experimenting, I found a way to do it that I really liked…As in, I would gladly eat this for breakfast every morning. It’s that good.

So for each toddler-sized serving I use:

About 1/4 cup raw oats

1 container of vanilla yogurt

About 1/4 cup frozen blueberries (or any fruit, probably***)

image

Combine all ingredients in a container with a tight-sealing lid. Cover and refrigerate overnight. That’s it!

I know.

image

I kind of feel like a cheater, because this is so easy. If you have older kids they could even make their own.

O sometimes eats the whole thing, and other mornings he’ll eat about three quarters of it… I don’t know if it holds up well for another night in the fridge because when O leaves some in the bowl, I just finish it.

Sometimes being a mama is rough.

I think the trick is to make sure to have more yogurt than oatmeal, so if you need to increase the amounts just keep that in mind.

***Check with your pediatrician before introducing strawberries, as they are a potential allergen.

