Bonus post!

I actually had this one scheduled for tomorrow, but I thought of my lovely readers settling down for the evening with a good book and a blanket…What would be a better way to complete that snuggly little picture? Hot chocolate, of course!

This is not just any old hot chocolate… it’s a spicy chocolate that will really warm you up on this ridiculously cold evening. I first had it when I lived in Texas, and I never really bothered to attempt to make it myself until last night.

This recipe is not authentic at all. It’s made with what I had on hand since we are under travel restrictions. When I can get to the store, I’m going to pick up some of this stuff:

For now, though, Hershey’s cocoa powder will do.

To make one serving of this yummy beverage, you’ll need:

Milk (I used my coffee mug to measure)

2-3 heaping tablespoons of sugar

2-3 heaping tablespoons cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon (or more if you like cinnamon)

UP TO 1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper (go extremely easy at first)

Combine everything in a small saucepan and heat on low, stirring frequently, until it gets to your desired temperature. CAREFULLY pour it into a mug, add whipped cream or marshmallows if you like, and enjoy!

image

Remember, this is totally customizable. If you want more chocolate, dump more in! If you like it super sweet, really go for the sugar… I happened to have some of my chili dark chocolate left, so I melted a few squares of that in there. It’s hard to screw this up, and it’s leaps and bounds better than the powdered mix.

Stay warm, friends!

