How about we take a break from the holiday recipes… I need to stop stuffing my face with sweets in the name of R&D. Also, for my next holiday treat I need peanut butter and we’re out. So…there’s that.

Don’t worry, I still have a recipe for you! Just not one that contains roughly a pound of sugar. I made this super easy and quick dish for supper on Saturday and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out!

Pork cutlet parmesan

Pork cutlets (1 for each person…I used 2)

3/4 cup Italian bread crumbs

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

About 1/2 medium onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 medium green pepper, chopped

A handful of mushrooms, roughly chopped

1 can Italian style tomatoes

1 small can tomato paste

Parmesan cheese

Pinch sugar

Basil (about a palm full)

Oregano (same)

Salt and pepper

Shredded mozzarella cheese

About 1/2 package spaghetti

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Mix bread crumbs and cheese in a shallow dish. Press cutlets into crumbs to coat… You could do the flour, eggs, crumbs routine but I didn’t.

Fry cutlets uncovered for about 5 minutes on each side, then remove to a paper towel-lined plate. Wipe the pan out if necessary, then add the veggies and a little salt and pepper. Cook until softened. Stir in tomato paste and canned tomatoes, then add oregano, basil, sugar (if the sauce is bitter… if not, you could omit the sugar), and parmesan. Stir it all together, then place cutlets on top and turn to medium-low heat to simmer while you boil your spaghetti.

When spaghetti has a couple of minutes left, top cutlets with shredded cheese and cover skillet, then let cook until cheese is melted.

Serve each cutlet over spaghetti and sauce with some garlic bread and a salad.

image

image

This was actually better than the chicken parmesan I had been craving… And it was so quick and simple that you could easily do it on a weeknight!

