I know I dropped the ball a bit on the Thanksgiving front, so I’m hoping to make it up to y’all with some holiday recipes you can make for Christmas and maybe even New Year’s Eve.

The first recipe I’m sharing is something I look forward to every year. I don’t recall a single Thanksgiving or Christmas table at Mamaw’s that wasn’t graced with cherry delight (turns out, it was actually a recipe given to my aunt by her mother-in-law, and it was so good my Mamaw started making it for every holiday).

Similar to cherry cheesecake, but far easier to make. I altered the original recipe a tad (I can’t help it), so this is my version:

CHERRY DELIGHT

1 envelope Dream Whip, prepared to package directions

6 oz. Philadelphia Cream Cheese, softened

1 large can cherry pie filling

1 1/2 Cups graham cracker crumbs

1/2 Stick butter, melted

1/4 cup of sugar

Add cream cheese to prepared Dream Whip and beat until stiff (har dee har har). Set aside.

Mix graham cracker crumbs together with sugar and butter. Press into casserole dish. Pour cream cheese mixture over cracker crust and top with cherries. Chill in the fridge, overnight if possible.

image

I actually made this for the first time recently. I brought a huge plate full of cherry delight home after Thanksgiving at Mamaw’s, but when I opened the fridge on Saturday it was gone and The BF was wearing a rather sheepish look on his face. I had to ask my aunt for the recipe just so I could make more…and of course, I shared.

I ate all of his ice cream first, though.

