I don’t know about you guys, but after hosting an event (like, a birthday party) I just don’t have the desire to spend any more time in the kitchen. The Sunday after the boy’s birthday, I managed to talk the BF into a rare dinner in town. Monday night we ended up eating some party leftovers on paper plates… But by Tuesday, I knew I’d need to do something that resembled cooking.

But I really, really didn’t want to.

Around 4ish I forced myself into the kitchen and dug around in the freezer until I produced a package of pork chops. I had some red potatoes and leftover diced onion in the fridge, and the BF had brought home some apples. There was a random container of Stove Top stuffing in the pantry (I’m not totally sure how it got there)…So I formulated a plan and got to work. The result was surprisingly delicious and incredibly easy. Stuffed pork chops over potato apple hash, anyone? Yeah, you definitely want to make this.

 

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and assemble the following:

4 boneless pork chops

Prepared Stove Top stuffing (follow package directions for 2 servings)

3-4 red potatoes, scrubbed and diced (but not peeled)

1 medium red apple, diced (not peeled)

About 1/2 of a medium to large onion, diced

3-4 slices cooked and crumbled bacon (if you have it, which I did not. SAD FACE)

Celery salt

Cajun seasoning

Salt and pepper

First, spray a casserole dish with nonstick spray. Potatoes, apple, onion, and bacon go into the bottom in an even layer. Sprinkle a little celery salt, cajun seasoning, and black pepper over this layer (if you’re using bacon, you may want to omit some or ALL of the salt).

Pound each pork chop to about 1/4 inch thickness between two sheets of plastic wrap. Put 1/4 of the prepared stuffing in the center of each pork chop, then roll the chop around the filling and secure with toothpicks. Sprinkle seasonings on the outside of each stuffed chop. Place chops on top of potato and apple layer, cover with aluminum foil, and pop ’em into the oven for 35 minutes.

The pork chops are done when a meat thermometer says 160 degrees. Feel free to remove the foil during the last 5-10 minutes of cooking to let the tops of the chops and potatoes brown a little bit.

Guess who was a bad food blogger and didn’t take a picture? Yeah, this girl right here. I can say that it was a pretty big hit… The BF ate THREE pork chops and kept going back for more of the hash. I cut one of the chops in half and shared with O (because I’m a giver), who seemed to like it enough that he ate all but a couple of potato chunks. I don’t think he’s realized that he can eat a meal without throwing some of it on the floor.

No picture of the chops, so here’s a picture of the stuffing mix instead.

Ok, lets pretend that I gracefully transitioned into what I would like to talk about next, because I just don’t have a good segue right now.

Please vote… I’m working on a new post that might or might not have something to do with a previously mentioned giveaway.

I’m so bad at surprises.

 

 

 

 

