I don’t think it’s a big secret that I’m a bit of a tightwad… Not quite so bad that I rinse and reuse paper towel (people really do this and it baffles me), and I don’t think I’m a candidate for Extreme Cheapskates, but I certainly do my best to save money whenever possible.

I have a few tried and true methods that have served me well. What kind of person would I be if I didn’t share these tips with my readers?

Not a very nice one, that’s for sure.

So here they are, some of my favorite ways to save a buck:

1. Don’t buy Swiffer refills. If you have the original Swiffer, a plain ol’ dishcloth will fit and they work quite well. After sweeping, I like to spray a diluted Mr. Clean solution on the floor, then use my dishcloth-covered Swiffer to mop it up. Bonus: the Mr. Clean with Febreeze makes everything smell nice and clean.

image

2. Join Swagbucks.com. I have the search bar on my phone, and I check the website daily for more opportunities to earn. I cash these points in for giftcards and buy things I need with them. It’s like getting cleaning products, or kid’s clothes, or almost anything you can think of…For free!

3. Similar to the tip above… But consider joining websites like Influenster and Tastemaker Mom. Both reward participating members by sending free products to try. It can be kind of random but hey, free is free! Both sites are invitation-only. I have invites available for each site, so if you’re interested let me know!

4. I don’t buy baby food. We did at first, because O started eating solids right when I had my surgery. I couldn’t do much of anything while I recovered, and it was easier for everyone to just buy the jarred stuff. Once I got back in the kitchen, I started making my own. Now that O is almost a year old (I don’t know how that’s even possible), I can just share most of my food with him.

5. I very rarely buy O’s clothes brand new. The kid grows out of stuff (or stains it) so quickly that I don’t see the point. Yard sales, friends that are desperate to get rid of stuff… I’ve actually got a huge pile of clothes that I’m getting ready to sell, myself. Which leads me to…

6. Don’t be sentimental. Once your kid outgrows something, sell or throw that shit out. I’m keeping a few of his “My first…” onesies, but I plan to make something out of them. Everything else is going to turn into money in my pocket.

7. If you’re a natural brunette, you might like this one. I quit dying my hair when I got knocked up and I haven’t done it since… but if I feel like my natural color needs a boost I use leftover (cold!) coffee. Here’s how!

8. I cook dinner every night…And I mean really cook, not processed convenience foods. It’s healthier and easier on the ol’ wallet than going out to eat all the time. It may not be the easiest thing to do sometimes, but it’s worth it to me to know exactly what I’m feeding the people I love.

What is your favorite money- (or time!) saving tip? Share it in the comments!

