I thought yesterday was a pretty good day. An experimental pie I baked turned out really well, the boy took a three hour (THREE HOUR) nap, and I made a big pot of chili and some corn bread for dinner. In addition to all of that, I scored an awesome birthday present for the boy for free. Hooray for me!

Then I woke up this morning. Truth be told, I did not feel awesome. My sinuses have been a mess because of this weather, and my hips and knees are apparently trying to leave the rest of my body as violently and painfully as possible. I could barely hobble down the stairs because of the stiffness in my legs. Once I made it, I just kind of sunk down to the floor and gave in to being a human jungle gym for my rambunctious boy. I picked up my phone to check the time, hoping to see that I could lie there in agony for just a bit longer before I had to make breakfast…But I got distracted by a new email from BlogHer.

I had to read it three times. Partially because the boy knocked my glasses off when I was reading it the first time, but also because…Holy shit, does that say what I think it does?!

And it did!

Today, Fred the tumor got a little more recognition from the wonderful Melissa Ford at BlogHer. Check the post out here if you like.

Blogher

I mean…Who knew that damn tumor would get so much attention?

Ok, so I know you’re probably thinking…”Yeah, yeah, we’ve heard about Fred before…Let’s talk about this pie!”

Guys, this pie was amazing. It started Monday night, when I wanted some ice cream with caramel sauce. If you’ve never made caramel sauce, it’s super easy: Combine 1 cup brown sugar, 1 stick of butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/4 cup evaporated milk and a pinch of salt in a pan, then just cook and stir over medium heat until it turns into sauce. Done!

So I made the caramel sauce and since I’m a giver, I shared it with the BF. We ended up having some left, and yesterday morning, when I was getting a plum for the boy’s breakfast, I noticed it sitting there in the fridge. The BF had brought a bag of apples home that I had planned to turn into applesauce but…

Pie sounded better.

I made my heart healthy pie crust, but I didn’t roll it thin enough to get two crusts out of it. If you’re less lazy than me, you could always store half of the crust dough in the fridge for later use because you’ll only need a bottom crust for this pie. Believe it or not, I actually don’t own a pie pan… It’s on the list of things I should buy, but for some reason I never do. Anyway, if you find yourself in this situation, just use an 8-inch round cake pan (of which I have three). Press the bottom crust into the pan, and feel free to make the edges pretty if you like. I didn’t feel like fussing with it, so it’s a rustic apple pie.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. I peeled and sliced 6 smallish red apples, though you could use less or more…Green apples would probably also be delicious. I like to toss the apples with a little brown sugar, cinnamon, flour, and pinches of nutmeg and salt. Dump the apples into your prepared pie crust. Now, stir the caramel sauce and pour some it over the apples…A little goes a long way!

For the topping, combine about a cup of oatmeal with 3 tablespoons of melted butter, about 1/2 cup brown sugar, a tablespoon of cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg. Sprinkle it evenly over the apples, then put your pie in the oven and let it bake for 40 minutes or until the crust and topping are nice and brown.

If you have company coming over, or if you’re maybe trying to sell your house, you should totally put one of these pies in the oven. Good LORD does this pie make your house smell like fall in the best way possible.

IMG_20131022_132322

IMG_20131022_200133

 

IMG_20131022_200235

This pie is pretty darn delicious just the way it is… But you can pour more caramel sauce over it. You could also have it with ice cream if you weren’t out of ice cream.

It’s not my fault.

It doesn’t actually need ice cream, though…Just the pie with some caramel sauce drizzled over it is amazing enough. Feel free to eat a piece before your BF gets home from work, and then go ahead and hide the rest in the back of the fridge. It’s not that you won’t share…It’s just that you want to share on your terms.

