Sometimes The BF goes a little crazy at the grocery store. Like, 5 pound boneless pork loin crazy. Now, I love pork loin because it’s so easy and versatile… but I typically buy a much smaller one since I’m only feeding two people.

Well, 2 1/4 since O can have table food now, but that hasn’t really impacted the amount of food I have to make yet. I know…Wait until he’s a teenager! Yeah, my wallet is already bracing itself for those grocery bills.

Where was I? Oh yes… Five pounds of porky goodness…

I originally wanted to wrap it in bacon and stick it in the oven… Too bad we were out of bacon. Since that was out if the question, I decided to drag the ‘ol crock pot out.

For the first night, I simply quartered two small onions, smashed 4 cloves of garlic, and quartered (lengthwise) 5 smallish potatoes. Everything got dropped into the bottom of the crock pot (lined with a turkey bag because hello, easy cleanup). I seasoned everything with salt and pepper and poured in a little chicken broth (only about 1/2 to 3/4 cup). The pork loin went on top, and I sprinkled salt, pepper, granulated garlic, rosemary, and thyme on it. The lid went on and I cranked that puppy to high for four hours. Easy-peasy. After four hours, turn it to low and just let it go until dinner time. Check the thickest part with a meat thermometer before serving to make sure it says at least 150, though some still say 160 degrees is safest.

Porkloin1

For night one, I served the pork loin with roasted brussels sprouts, cottage cheese, and garlic parmesan biscuits.

porkloin2

On night two, I pulled some of the pork and made a quick pulled-pork barbecue. Toss the pork into a pan with the following (all to taste): ketchup, mustard, barbecue sauce, brown sugar, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper, and a little cayenne pepper or cajun seasoning. Let that all simmer together on lowish heat. Use any leftover potatoes to make a quick mustard potato salad: diced potatoes, mayonnaise, mustard, diced onion, diced pickle (or pickle relish), celery seed (or chopped celery), salt, and pepper.

I split the parmesan biscuits, spooned a good amount of the pork onto the bottom half, topped them with cheese and stuck them into a 350 degree oven until the cheese melted.

porkloin3

For the third day, I decided to make tacos. Pull some pork and toss it into a pan with chili powder, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic, onion, masa, and a little chicken broth (about a cup). Let it simmer on low until the liquid reduces and thickens a bit. Warm corn or flour tortillas in the oven, then top with the pork and whatever other taco toppings you love. I served mine with refried black beans and Spanish rice.

porkloin4

And the fourth (and final) day… Nachos!

I cut the leftover tortillas into triangles and crisped them up in the oven. Put them on a baking sheet, spray with a little oil, sprinkle with salt, and bake at 350 degrees for about 5 minutes on each side. Watch them, because they could easily burn.

Meanwhile, heat your leftover taco meat, beans, and make your cheese sauce. Milk and whatever cheese you like, nuked at 30 second intervals. Stir frequently and if you like add some chopped jalapenos.

Once your chips are ready, spread them in a thin layer on your plate. Top with pork and drizzle (ok, dump) the cheese sauce all over. I piled the beans in the center rather than trying to spread them over the chips. Feel free to add sour cream, guacamole, extra cheese, or whatever other toppings you like. I like to sprinkle pico de gallo and shredded cheese over everything.

Sunday night, I realized I was out of pork loin (finally). We had frozen pizza for dinner.

What? I can’t be Martha ALL the time.

Totally unrelated, but…This is my 300th post. Hooray! I’m windy!

