Ok, so this is not one of the healthier recipes you’ll find on this blog. Everything in moderation, though…I mean, you definitely want to make this.

If you’re saying right now, “No, I don’t think I want hot fudge pie…” we probably can’t be friends.

Go to your kitchen and assemble the following ingredients:

1 stick butter (I used salted), softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs at room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup flour (all-purpose)

Now grease a pie pan (8 inch) and preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy with a hand mixer. Add eggs and vanilla, then mix until combined. Dump in cocoa powder, salt, and flour. Stir until a thick batter forms. Pour into prepared pie pan and bake until center is set, about 30 to 35 minutes.

Feel free to dust with powdered sugar, though it’s pretty stellar without. I like to serve it warm with vanilla bean ice cream.

Or you could do this:

Untitledhfpie

Warm hot fudge pie…Two (ok, three) scoops of vanilla bean ice cream… AND peanut butter sauce. Because I just don’t know how to be anything other than excessive when it comes to desserts.

In my defense, our ice cream scoop is pretty small. I also expected the BF to share this with me, but he claimed he couldn’t eat another bite after dinner. I just don’t think he was trying hard enough.

Peanut butter sauce is simple, by the way. Drop two or three tablespoons of creamy peanut butter into a microwave-safe dish. Add about a teaspoon or two of butter and microwave at 15-second intervals (stirring in between) until smooth. Stir in powdered sugar to taste. You might need to re-nuke it when you’ve got it the way you want it. It’s pretty much peanut butter icing, warmed up and dumped on ice cream.

You’re welcome.

