Who knew becoming a mom opened you up for so much judgement? Not this girl.

Formula vs breastfeeding, co-sleep vs cry-it-out, stay at home vs go to work… All decisions that you make as a mother and all, apparently, open to judgement from only everyone.

It’s ridiculous.

I saw this on Facebook last week:

someecards.com - I hear you. Raising kids and running a house keep me busy, too. I also have this little gig on the side called a full time job.

And then I saw what Matt Walsh wrote about his wife, who is a stay at home mom:

The people who completely immerse themselves in the tiring, thankless, profoundly important job of raising children ought to be put on a pedestal. We ought to revere them and admire them like we admire rocket scientists and war heroes. These women are doing something beautiful and complicated and challenging and terrifying and painful and joyous and essential. Whatever they are doing, they ARE doing something, and our civilization DEPENDS on them doing it well. Who else can say such a thing? What other job carries with it such consequences?

And you know what? They’re both a bit ridiculous.

I mean, kudos to Matt Walsh for sticking up for his wife. I will admit that I LOVED his post when I first read it. Then I read it again, and again. He sounds a little…frenzied…in a couple of parts. Like he came straight home from that coffee shop and sat down at his computer to TELL. THOSE. BITCHES. WHAT’S. UP.

What completely baffles me about this whole thing is…Just why is everyone competing so furiously to have a harder life? I mean, seriously… I hear working moms say things like, “Well I have to work all day and then I have to come home and cook dinner.” or, “Well my house would be cleaner but I actually have to work…”

And then there are the stay at home moms that come back with things like, “Well I haven’t showered in three weeks!” and, “I don’t remember the last time I pooped by myself…”

Listen.

Being a mom is hard. Period. Why don’t we all agree to stop competing for the title of shittiest life (uh, and biggest martyr) and actually be supportive of the other moms around us? And even better, maybe we should all remember that the parenting decisions made by other moms are actually none of our business and therefor not for us to comment on?

In the words of a good friend of mine (who happens to be a working mother, if that matters):

“Why do some moms have to be bitches?

Can’t we all just agree that being moms is a really hard job?”
And she’s right. There’s no reason to be so incredibly shitty to other mothers. We all have it rough on occasion BUT we also get to experience one of the most amazing journeys a human being can take.
