Want to hear a joke about pizza?

Never mind…It’s too cheesy.

… ! …

I don’t know what is up with me lately, but I’ve been slacking in the meal planning department. Seems like most mornings are spent trying to figure out what to make for dinner while sucking down a cup pot of coffee and tending to my 10 (almost 11!) month old. I had stuffed peppers on the brain yesterday for some reason, but I didn’t want the same ol’ stuffed peppers. I also had some things in the fridge I needed to use up, and I had a bit of a craving for pizza.

Well it doesn’t take a rocket scientist…Pizza stuffed peppers!

Here’s what I used to serve 2 people:

1 large green pepper (for every 2 people you’ll need one large pepper…for example, for two people you just need one large pepper, for four people you’d need two, etc…)

For the filling:

1 pound ground beef or sausage

1 small onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 can pizza sauce*

1 can basil and oregano tomatoes, drained

Basil

Oregano

Salt and pepper

Toppings:

Any type of pizza topping you can think of! I used pepperoni and mushrooms but feel free to add in your own.

Shredded cheese (I used pizza blend and parmesan)

Brown your beef or sausage, onions and garlic in a pan over medium heat. Drain, then pour back into the skillet. Reduce heat to low, then add pizza sauce, drained tomatoes, basil, oregano, salt and pepper. Cover and let cook…Mine simmered on low for probably an hour while I did some things around the house, but you could just let it come to a simmer and proceed with the next step.

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Prep your peppers by cutting each one in half and removing all of the seeds and pithy white stuff. Place them into a foil-lined baking dish, cut side up, then fill each pepper almost to the top with the pizza mixture (Note: If your filling mixture is a bit runny, use a slotted spoon to keep excess moisture to a minimum). Add your pizza toppings, then cover and bake for about 25 minutes.

When the timer goes off, remove foil and top peppers with cheese. Put ’em back into the oven (uncovered) for 5-10 minutes, or until the cheese melts. I also like to give mine a few minutes under the broiler (on low) to get the cheese nice and brown on top. That step is totally optional, of course.

PicsArt_1381258619460

IMG_20131008_151818

Served with a salad and a hunk of toasty, cheesy garlic bread these are super satisfying. *Next time I’ll make my own pizza sauce, but we end up with pre-made stuff in the pantry when the BF goes shopping.

You might have leftover sauce. That’s ok! Use it for the next night’s dinner or freeze it.

 

