I love fall…I adore hooded sweatshirts, I’ve recently discovered tights (so what if mine are my maternity tights?), and if I could live in tall boots I totally would. Except on the days I wanted to wear stilettos.

Random weirdness: I kept hearing about how my feet were going to get bigger when I had O…but mine actually are smaller. Half of the shoes in my closet are too big for me now. Along with all of my clothes. Go figure.

Anyway…

With cooler fall weather comes an intense desire for comfort food. Lately I’ve been wanting thick stews and chowders, potatoes, and eggs in just about any form. Saturday morning I had a rare opportunity to fix myself something for an early lunch (instead of just eating a handful of O’s Cheerios). I scrambled up some eggs, and after taking the first bite I thought, “I can make this better.”

Oh man, did I ever. I’m not sure I’ll be eating regular old scrambled eggs anymore.

If you would like to have cheesy baked scrambled eggs in your life (um, you do), here’s how:

Assemble the following:

2 tablespoons butter (ish)

About 1/4 cup onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, diced

2 eggs

Splash of milk

Salt and pepper

About a handful of your favorite cheese, shredded

1 tablespoon butter (melted)

About 1/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs (or less, if you aren’t a fan of the topping)

Parmesan cheese to taste

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Over medium heat, melt the 2 tablespoons of butter and add onions and garlic. Let that cook and make your kitchen smell wonderful while you whisk together the eggs, milk, salt and pepper. Sometimes I like to get a little crazy (or, as the kids say these days, CRAY CRAY) and add a little Sriracha or regular ol’ hot sauce. Feel free to add any other spices or herbs you’d like.

Pour the eggs into the pan and sprinkle the cheese on top. Let it sit for a couple of minutes, then begin to scramble by stirring gently. Cook until the eggs are set to your liking, but remember that you’ll be baking them. Don’t let them get too done, or they’ll get rubbery.

Butter a ramekin or oven-proof bowl lightly. Pour eggs into bowl. Mix breadcrumbs, melted butter, and parmesan cheese, then sprinkle over eggs. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the crumb topping has browned.

eggs

Feel free to increase the number of eggs if you want to feed more people…Just use a cookie sheet to hold all of your bowls or ramekins.

Eggy, cheesy goodness. Oh my.

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

