Who doesn’t love popcorn? It’s really the perfect snack…Plain with a little salt, with salt and cracked back pepper…Or you can toss it with a little cinnamon and sugar if you like it sweet. The possibilities really are endless.

My parents have one of those super fancy stove top popcorn poppers. You know, the kind that takes up a shit ton of cabinet space and requires you to stand there stirring the whole time while everyone else is having fun?

Kind of like this.

I’m not going to go to all of that trouble every time I want some popcorn, but I really don’t like the microwave stuff.  You know what would be great? If there was a way to make microwave popcorn at home so you know exactly what goes in it.

I did some searching, and after reading a handful of recipes I thought I had it figured out. Here’s what you need to make your very own microwave popcorn without all of that nasty stuff.

2013-09-08_11-20-57_466

1 Paper lunch bag

1- 1 1/2 teaspoons popcorn salt/ fine sea salt

1 – 1 1/2 teaspoons canola oil

1/4 cup popcorn kernels

Dump the popcorn into the lunch bag, then add oil and salt. I like to shake it up to coat the kernels, then press the air out (as best you can) and fold the bag down until it’s securely closed. You could staple the bag shut, but I didn’t because I couldn’t find our stapler and I wasn’t convinced the microwave wouldn’t blow up. O isn’t old enough to plausibly be to blame for stuff like that, so I try not to break things.

Oh come on, I’m just kidding. Mostly.

2013-09-08_11-28-06_571

Put a paper towel under the bag, because the oil will soak through a bit. You’ll still have to wipe the microwave plate off, but the towel does help.

I set the timer for three minutes and then stand there with my finger hovering over the stop button. I don’t have a hard and fast time for you to use, because every bag will be a little different. Just stay close to the microwave and stop it once the pops slow down. Please don’t let it burn, because hours later your BF will come home and ask what you tried to burn down.

   2013-09-08_11-30-16_638

You get light, fluffy, crunchy popcorn without all of that nasty neon orange mystery gunk. It’s actually delicious right out of the bag, but I like to liven my popcorn up a bit.

popcorn

Parmesan dill popcorn:

1 bag DIY microwave popcorn

butter, about a tablespoon (or more…it’s your popcorn!)

onion powder*

granulated garlic*

dried dill*

parmesan cheese (Green can works just fine)*

*To taste

Pour the butter over your popcorn, then sprinkle the onion, garlic and dill over it. Toss, then add cheese and toss again. All done!

You could also mix hot sauce into butter and have Buffalo popcorn if you like it spicy.

I know this is going to sound weird…Chicken bullion powder is pretty good on popcorn, but it contains MSG so I stopped buying it.

tajin

Tajin (a delicious mix of chili powder, lime and salt that is wonderful on fresh fruit) is also a delightful spicy addition.

What are your favorite popcorn toppings?

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers

