I lived in south Texas (Corpus Christi, to be exact) for two years and there are so many things I miss… The ocean, HEB grocery stores, the people, and definitely the food.

Oh, the food

There was the tamale lady… She drove around selling her homemade tamales out of the trunk of her car. I was skeptical at first, but then I tried one. They were amazing. Nothing you get in a restaurant would hold a candle to her tamales.

There were the baskets overflowing with fresh fruit that used to be delivered to our store… Pineapple, mango, watermelon, wedges of lime,slivers of fresh coconut… and nestled into the bounty of fruit was a container of chili powder. If you haven’t dunked a chunk of watermelon into chili powder and salt, you haven’t lived. I recently found Tajin at Wal-Mart and my heart sang.

image

Morning meetings at work meant breakfast tacos. Pillowy soft, thick flour tortillas filled with all manner of delicious things. Chorizo, potato, egg and cheese… Potato, egg, and cheese…Carne guisada…

When I had a weekend off (or a late Saturday shift) my friends and I would meet at a little cafe for what we called “hangover breakfast”. This place had the absolute best migas around. A big plate of migas paired with endless coffee refills would at least dull even the most raging hangover.

Ah, memories…

This morning, the BF and I woke up to O babbling to himself in his crib. After the morning diaper change/bottle/ make a pot of coffee routine, the BF headed out to a job. O was playing quietly so I sat with my coffee and thought about what I could have for breakfast. I was remembering my Texas hangover breakfasts when I decided to attempt making some migas of my own.

I used:

2 tablespoons canola oil plus about 1/2 tablespoon butter

4 small corn tortillas, cut into strips

About 1/4 of a medium onion, roughly chopped

3 large cloves of garlic (or less if you aren’t obsessed with garlic), sliced or chopped

About 1/2 cup of your favorite salsa

2 eggs

Splash of milk

Salt and pepper

Hot sauce (if you like things spicy)

Handful of shredded cheese (I had Italian blend on hand but anything would work)

Heat oil over medium… when it’s almost hot enough, add butter. When the pan is good and hot, add your tortilla strips.

image

Fry the strips until they start to brown, then toss in the garlic and onions.

image

Let cook until the onions and garlic soften, then add your salsa.

image

Stir and cook for a couple of minutes. Beat eggs with milk, salt and pepper, and a dash or two of hot sauce (if using). Pour over tortillas and salsa.

image

Let that sit for a couple of minutes, then stir and cook until eggs are just set. Top with cheese, then cover and cook for about 2-3 minutes, or until eggs are cooked through and cheese is melted.

Serve with extra salsa. Chopped cilantro, guacamole and sour cream (or Greek yogurt) are also good additions, but I didn’t have them on hand.

image

And there you have it: Saturday morning migas, minus the hangover. The perfect breakfast to start my very busy weekend.

Happy weekend, y’all!

