“No kitty! This is MY pot pie!” – Eric Cartman

I love pie…Apple pie, raspberry pie, peach pie, key lime pie…Oh, I really, really love key lime pie… Basically, if you can put it between two pie crusts I’m going to like it. Probably.

I don’t think pie is just for dessert, though… In fact, I think I like savory pies more than sweet pies. I get really excited when I find a good shepherd’s pie (usually they’re best at hole-in-the-wall Irish pubs) and I love chicken pot pie with every fiber of my being.

Well, that might be a little dramatic. But not by much.

My mom makes the best chicken pot pie ever and this is my version of hers. I have no idea where the original recipe came from, though I suspect it was in a cookbook she got as a wedding present. You’re obviously doing something right when your husband requests the same dish over and over again for 34 years. I’ve made a couple of changes… I don’t use milk and I use baked chicken breast instead of canned. I also use garlic cloves where my mom would use granulated garlic. IT ISN’T THE SAME THING, MOM. Otherwise, it’s pretty much the chicken pot pie I grew up with.

You need:

2 tbsp butter/ margerine
1 small/med onion
2 -3 cloves garlic
2 tbsp flour
1 box chicken broth (32 oz)
1 can mixed vegetables (14.5 oz)
2 cooked and shredded boneless, skinless chicken breasts
heart-healthy pie crust recipes, with about a tablespoon of celery seed added to each crust

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Over medium heat, melt butter and add onions and garlic. Let cook until just soft, then sprinkle flour over while mixing. Once you’ve got it all combined, pour in chicken broth while stirring and turn the heat up slightly. Let come to a bubble, stirring frequently, until thickened.

Make your pie crust at this point, if you like. Place one rolled out crust into the bottom of a baking dish.

If the gravy hasn’t thickened enough, feel free to do a corn starch/water thickener. Stir in drained veggies and chicken. Pour mixture into prepared pie crust, top with second crust and seal using whatever method you prefer. Make sure to vent the top crust by cutting slits into it. Bake 30-35 minutes, or until crust is golden. I sprinkled a little coarse sea salt on the top crust before baking for a little extra crunch. Feel free to use an egg wash if you like, though I typically don’t.

image

image

image

You could use any veggies, really… I’ve tossed broccoli and cauliflower in before, sometimes finely diced potato…I know people that use mushrooms, but I’m not a fan. Frozen veggies work just as well as canned, by the way.

You can’t really screw it up.

