I get a TON of emails. Lots of them have to do with my blog but at least half of them are of the ‘recipe of the day’ type. What can I say? I may be slightly obsessed with food. The funny thing is, I’ve never actually used a recipe from those emails. Sometimes those emails sit in my inbox for months before I finally delete them.

I was going on a deleting spree over the weekend when the subject of one of the emails caught my eye. “Healthy sour cream chicken enchiladas!”, it said. “Hmmmm…Tell me more…”, I replied.

I opened the email and was immediately disappointed. First ingredient? Sour cream. Second ingredient? Cream of chicken soup.  NOPE.

Have I mentioned before that I think canned, condensed cream of ANYTHING soup is a vile, disgusting substance? Well. It is.

I deleted the email right away. Shame on you Spark People, for trying to say that sour cream and cream of vomit soup = healthy.

THEN I set out to make my own damned chicken enchiladas.

You need:

Shredded chicken

image

I baked 3 boneless, skinless breasts seasoned with salt, pepper (lots of pepper!), granulated garlic, and celery salt…Once cool I shredded them with a fork. Feel free to use rotisserie chicken from the store.

1 medium onion

2 cloves of garlic (or 4 if you want to be excessive like me)

About 2 tbsp margarine (or butter)

1-2 cans of Ro-Tel OR diced tomatoes

Corn tortillas (12ish)

Shredded pepper jack OR Monterey jack cheese

Fat-free sour cream (You could probably sub in Greek yogurt. I wanted to, but the BF went to the store with me.)

Chicken broth or stock

2 tbsp corn starch

1/4 cup cold water

Melt butter or margarine in a pan over medium-low heat. Add diced onion and garlic, let cook until softened. Add shredded chicken and 1 can of Ro-Tel. If you want it to be tomatoey-er (not a word) add the other can (if you don’t like spice, sub in regular diced tomatoes). Cover and let simmer, the longer, the better. I let mine go for at least an hour.

Spray a baking dish with a little cooking spray. Warm tortillas in the microwave according to package directions. Fill each tortilla with 2-3 tablespoons chicken filling and about 1 tablespoon of cheese, then roll up and place into dish, seam side down. Continue this process until you run out of filling or room in your dish. If your tortillas decide to crack, don’t worry too much. You’re covering everything, anyway! Set aside.

image

If you happen to be out of shredded cheese, just rip up cheese slices! Also, way to be prepared.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a sauce pan, heat a can of chicken broth over medium heat. Combine corn starch and cold water in a small dish. Once blended well, pour into the chicken broth and stir. The broth should thicken to a gravy-like consistency. Turn heat to low, add the sour cream, and stir until a smooth sauce forms. Pour over enchiladas and bake for 30 minutes or until warmed through.

Optional: Top with a little more shredded cheese and place under broiler on low until cheese melts.

image

Serve with refried beans and rice if you want to be Mexican restaurant-y.

image

So good we almost ate the whole thing.

I had a bit of the chicken filling left over, and if you mix it with some chicken broth and top it with tortilla strips and sour cream you can make a killer impromptu chicken tortilla soup!

