My heart healthy lasagna post is still viewed a handful of times a day… In fact, it’s one of the most common searches that brings new readers to my blog. I like that people are interested in making healthier versions of their favorite foods… So when my mom told me about this better version of pie crust I knew I had to share it with my readers.

I like this pie crust because it’s super easy, quick, and cleanup is a breeze. It’s just as flaky as your typical pie crust and it tastes so good you won’t miss all of that hydrogenated oil.

image

1 3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup oil (I use canola)
1 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons ice cold water

Seriously, couldn’t be easier. Preheat your oven to 375. Mix all ingredients in a bowl… I use a fork and save the water for last. You may have to use more water, so if your dough doesn’t come together add any additional water a tablespoon (or less) at a time.

image

Roll your crust out between two sheets of parchment paper. This really cuts down on the mess and makes it easier to move into your pan. I wouldn’t recommend rolling it on a floured surface because you’ll end up with a tough pie crust.

I made this crust specifically to eat with macerated fresh strawberries, so I simply transferred it (still on the parchment) to a baking sheet, poked some holes in it, and stuck it in the oven. If you’re doing the same, or if you’re blind baking the crust for a pie, bake it for 13 minutes or until it’s golden brown. Otherwise, follow the directions of your pie recipe.

image

I got one edge a little thinner than the rest and it got a bit dark. It was still good, though!

image

I had strawberries and pie crust for breakfast this morning and it was delicious. I can’t wait to try this crust in a pie!

