Fun fact: I’m a former 4-Her… I devoted ten of my precious summers to 4-H projects and Junior Leader meetings and outings. I won’t say I loved every minute of it, because there were definitely some arguments about what I’d rather be doing (goofing off with friends) versus what I needed to be doing (putting together my Photography poster), but for the most part I really enjoyed it.

The best part of being in 4-H was the fair. Once I got into Junior Leaders I spent a lot of time at the fairgrounds and I have loads of fond memories of fair week.

The BF and I are really excited for when O is old enough to be in 4-H. We were also pretty excited to take him to the fair for the first time…

Well, until we got there.

I don’t think it’s much of a secret in my community that our fair has gone downhill.  I can remember when we used to have a little carnival, with rides and games… Not anymore.  In fact, there isn’t much left to our fair except for the exhibit hall, barns and the arena. We grabbed a quick bite in the pork producers tent, then walked the grounds for a bit to chat with people we knew. I bought a small lemon shake-up and the BF got a giant chunk of chocolate covered cheesecake on a stick.

montgomery co fair food

L: Cheesecake. On a steek. Also, the bf’s rad Hawaiian shirt. R: Lemony goodness

We decided that we needed to do better for O’s first fair experience. I mean, even he looked bored the whole time we were there. Lucky for us, the very next week was the Putnam county fair.

Now that’s a fair, guys and gals.

No trip to the Putnam county fair is complete without a stop at the Legion burger stand. These are similar to White Castle sliders, but they don’t seem to pack the same…um…punch.

*toot*

legion burgers

L: The Legion burger stand at the Putnam county fair. R: Legion burgers!

I’m not ashamed to say that I polished off four of those puppies and I could have eaten more. Fair time is NOT a time to practice  eating in moderation.

After eating, we made our way to the carnival area. O got to ride the merry-go-round (with a little help from the BF) and he looked like such a big boy that I almost cried. We couldn’t leave without winning a stuffed animal, so O and the BF played a fishing game. O won a turtle because he’s awesome.

carnival

L: O’s first carnival ride (with Dad, ’cause mama would’ve barfed). R: The super cool turtle O won.

After a quick stop for some kettle corn (we ended up with the caramel apple flavor), we headed back to the car. On our way we had to stop at the truck pull for a few minutes to watch. I looked down to see O’s reaction as one truck was coming down the track, and the little guy was sound asleep. No amount of diesel pickup truck noise was going to wake him up!

truck pull

There goes a couple of polar bears…maybe a penguin…probably a baby seal or two. ‘MERICA!

We had a really nice time. My parents were with us (since my entire family is from Putnam county) and I know they really enjoyed being there.

It’s so amazing to watch my boy experience things for the first time, ever…and it’s also pretty great to see my parents as grandparents. When I got in bed that night, I know I drifted off to sleep with a smile on my face.

**********************************************************************************************

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

The Blog Dare on Bloggy Moms

